More Accounting Tomorrow Posts

AICPA bestows annual awards to CPA exam high scorers

January 6, 2011

The American Institute of CPAs announced the winners of the 2009 Elijah Watt Sells Awards.

The annual awards honor candidates who achieve the 10 highest cumulative scores on all four sections of the computerized Uniform CPA Exam.

This crop of winners included multiple candidates with identical scores, resulting in five more winners than previous years.

These 15 students, recognized out of the 93,000 people who took the exam the previous calendar year, must have also passed each exam section in their first attempt to qualify.

The award winners and their state board affiliation are:

•    Kimberly Anne Brant, Minnesota
•    Michelle Elizabeth Burket, Virginia
•    Maria M. Goto, Hawaii
•    Kay J. Hashimoto, New York
•    Jeremy J. Hurwitch, Florida
•    Matthew Saje Kult, Wisconsin
•    Isaiah L. Massey, Texas
•    Luke T. Olson, Georgia
•    Ryan Christopher Ossowski, Florida
•    Andrew N. Rebstock, Wisconsin
•    Abigail Lindsay Richards, North Carolina
•    Peter William Rogers, New York
•    Ryan Malcolm Scadding, Massachusetts
•    Jessie D. Wagner, Oklahoma
•    Ryan F. Williamson, Illinois

The AIPCA created the awards in 1923 in tribute to the late Elijah Watt Sells, one of the country’s first CPAs and a leader in advancing professional education.  

For more information on the exam, visit the AICPA website.

Comments (0)

Be the first to comment on this post using the section below.

Add Your Comments:
Not Registered?
You must be registered to post a comment. Click here to register.
Already registered? Log in here
Please note you must now log in with your email address and password.