San Diego -- The Association of Accounting Marketing presented awards to 45 accounting firms and marketers at its annual conference, held here in June.

Rene Stranghoner, director of practice growth at Weaver and Tidwell in Fort Worth, Texas, was named Marketer of the Year, while Laura Snyder, director of marketing at Porter Keadle Moore in Atlanta, received the Volunteer of the Year Award, and Rookie of the Year honors went to Benjamin Plantan, marketing manager of J.H. Cohn in New York.

The association chose two Hall of Fame inductees: Leisa Gill, director of marketing at Lattimore Black Morgan & Cain in Brentwood, Tenn., and Tracy Crevar Warren, president of the Crevar Group in Jamestown, N.C.

In addition, AAM presented 40 Marketing Achievement Awards to 30 firms recognized by size for their work in different categories of marketing and communications: Perkins & Co. and Weaver and Tidwell were recognized for logo design; Apple Growth Partners and Grant Thornton LLP for corporate identity; Porter Keadle Moore, Gainer, Donnelly & Desroches LLP and Witt Mares PLC for brochure/printed collateral; Moore Stephens North America Inc. and SS&G Financial Services Inc. for print newsletter; Weaver and Tidwell for electronic newsletters; Clayton & McKervey PC and PKF Texas for public relations; Barnes, Dennig & Co. Ltd. and Anders, Minkler & Diehl LLP for survey/research; Kirkland Albrecht & Frederickson and AM&D for internal firm programs; Clayton & McKervey and PKF Texas for Web site design; Goldstein Lewin & Co. and Habif, Arogeti & Wynne LLP for multi-media; Cerini and Associates LLP and Rea & Associates Inc. for celebratory greeting card; Salmon Sims Thomas, Skoda Minotti and The Rehmann Group for sales presentations/proposals; Clayton & McKervey and Friedman LLP for niche-building campaign; Gorfine, Schiller & Gardyn PA and Virchow, Krause & Co. LLP for event marketing, tradeshows and seminars; Horovitz, Rudoy & Roteman and Horne LLP for single mailing; HR&R and AM&D for campaign mailing; HR&R and Horne for single print; Peterson Sullivan PLLC, Blum, Shapiro & Co. PC and Gainer, Donnelly & Desroches for series print; and Margolis & Co. PC and UHY Advisors for non-print.

Separately, Clifton Gunderson received three 2008 Hermes Creative Awards from the Association of Marketing and Communication Professionals for its Web Site design.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access