THE DELOITTE FOUNDATION FETES PH.D.CANDIDATES: The Deloitte Foundation -- the not-for-profit arm of Big Four firm Deloitte & Touche -- said that 10 doctoral students in accounting will be awarded $250,000 in fellowship grants as part of its Doctoral Fellowship Program.

The 10 Deloitte Doctoral Fellowship recipients for 2005 are: Ryan T. Ball, of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Judson A. Caskey, at the University of Michigan; Shana M. Clor Proell, at Cornell University; Lucile C. Faurel, at New York University; Lance M. Fisher, of the University of Arizona; Sharon P. Katz, at Columbia; George P. Papadakis, of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; David A. Reppenhagen, at Emory University; Stephanie A. Sikes, at the University of Texas at Austin; and Rodrigo S. Verdi, of the University of Pennsylvania.

The 49-year-old program attracts applicants from nearly 100 universities across the U.S. In order to apply, students must first be nominated by their accounting faculty. The awardees are chosen by an independent selection committee comprised of three accounting educators.

This year's selection committee included Professor Lisa Koonce of the University of Texas at Austin; Prof. Edward Maydew of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; and Prof. Richard Sloan of the University of Michigan.

Each of the 2005 Deloitte Doctoral Fellows will receive $5,000 during their final year of course work, and $20,000 during the subsequent year of completing a dissertation.
Since it was founded, the Deloitte program has provided financial support to more than 900 doctoral students.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access