More Accounting Tomorrow Posts

NSA Scholarship Foundation announces 2011 recipients

June 5, 2012

The National Society of Accountants Scholarship Foundation recently awarded 31 students with funding for their accounting education.

Having provided more than $1 million to undergraduate and graduate students pursuing a degree in accounting since 1969, this year the foundation is bestowing scholarships ranging from $500-$2,000.

The recipients were chosen from 500 applicants based on academic record, demonstrated leadership and participation in school and community activities, honors, work experience, stated goals, and financial need.

“We are delighted to see continuing strong interest from students looking to enter the accounting profession,” said NSA Scholarship Foundation president Martha A. Bell in a statement. “These scholarships will help them reach their educational goals and we look forward to seeing them join the profession in the future.”

The 2011 scholarship recipients, along with their universities, NSA-affiliated organizations or the named scholarships that provided funding, and amount of scholarship, are listed below:

Joshua D. Anderson

Florida State University – Tallahassee, FL

Stanley H. Stearman Award: $2,000 (Year Two)

 Lauren D. Brimhall

Arizona State University – Tempe, AZ

Arizona Society of Public Accountants Merit Scholarship: $1,000

Nicole K. Cartier

Babson College – Babson Park, MA

Maine Association of Accountants: $1,000

Kirsten K. Cerbone

University of Arkansas at Little Rock – Little Rock, AR

Ronny Woods Memorial Award: $1,000

Amy J. Coogler

University of Alabama – Tuscaloosa, AL

Alabama Association of Accountants: $1,000

Robert J. Cope

Lee University – Cleveland, TN

Ronny Woods Memorial Award: $1,000

Mallory D. Coulombe

Southern New Hampshire University – Manchester, NH

Sidney Weinberg Memorial Award: $1,000

Christine G. Davids

DePaul University – Chicago, IL

Independent Accountants Association of Illinois: $1,000

Molly J. Diamond

Regis University – Denver CO

Steven Desdier Memorial Award: $1,000

Shelby L. Diehl

University of Nebraska – Omaha, NE

Nebraska Society of Independent Accountants: $1,000

Amy T. Diestler

St. Norbert College – De Pere, WI

Wisconsin Association of Accountants, Inc.: $500

Daniel P. Dunnigan

Saint Bonaventure University – St. Bonaventure, NY

New York Society of Independent Accountants: $750

Shane W. Fairchild

University of Oklahoma – Norman, OK

Stanley H. Stearman Award: $2,000

Athena M. Gardner

University of Central Florida – Orlando, FL

Florida Society of Accounting and Tax Professionals: $500

Sonja M. Gooding

Walla Walla University – College Place, WA

Washington Association of Accountants: $1,000

Kayla N. Henderson

University of Arkansas – Fayetteville, AR

Arkansas Society of Accountants: $1,000

Louis W. Henry

Coastal Carolina University – Conway, SC

Florida Society of Accounting and Tax Professionals: $500

Shelly K. Knox

Everest College Springfield – Springfield, MO

Missouri Society of Accountants: $1,000

Lenka Konecny

Arizona State University – Tempe, AZ

Arizona Society of Public Accountants Scholarship: $2,000

Arienne L. Kvetkus

Quinnipiac University – Hamden, CT

New Jersey Society of Public Accountants: $1,000

Anh Q. Lee

Northeastern University – Boston, MA

Massachusetts Association of Accountants: $500

Kalliopi Makris

Fairfield University – Fairfield, CT

New Jersey Society of Public Accountants: $1,000

Carrie B. Munns

Eastern Washington University – Cheney, WA

Washington Association of Accountants: $700

Lindsey M. Petersen

Bradley University – Peoria, IL

Independent Accountants Association of Illinois: $800

Stephanie A. Phillips

Indiana University of Pennsylvania – Indiana, PA

Pennsylvania Society of Public Accountants: $1,000

Sara E. Schneider

Western Wisconsin Technical College – Mauston, WI

Wisconsin Association of Accountants Inc.: $500

Veronica N. Schneider

Northwest Christian University – Eugene, OR

Oregon Association of Independent Accountants: $1,000

Hannah E. Stover

Post University – Waterbury, CT

Millard D. Ashley Award: $1,000

Micelle Tawch

Suny College at Geneseo – Geneseo, NY

Milton Brown Award: $1,000

Matthew K. Van Thiel

University of Wisconsin Green Bay – Green Bay, WI

Wisconsin Association of Accountants, Inc.: $500

Holly K. Vaughan

University of Phoenix – Phoenix, AZ

Montana Society of Public Accountants: $500

For more on the NSA Scholarship Foundation program, visit


Comments (0)

Be the first to comment on this post using the section below.

Add Your Comments:
Not Registered?
You must be registered to post a comment. Click here to register.
Already registered? Log in here
Please note you must now log in with your email address and password.