Alexander Advisory Limited, Pembroke, was accepted into membership of global association BKR International.
CalCPA's headquarters in Burlingame
The California Society of CPAs presented its annual awards honoring service to the accounting profession and community. Gregory Burke, of Sacramento, received the Distinguished Service Award. Burke has served in several CalCPA leadership positions at the chapter and state level, including CalCPA chair for 2008-09 and the 2015-16 president of the CalCPA Education Foundation. Fausto Hinojosa, of Price, Paige & Co. in Fresno, and who serves on several charity boards in the area, received CalCPA's Public Service Award. CalCPA also presented two Firm Public Service awards, to Sensiba San Filippo, San Francisco Bay area, and Holthouse Carlin & Van Trigt, Los Angeles. Last year Sensiba San Filippo's staff donated 4,675 volunteer service hours to community charities and $65,000 to various organizations. Holthouse Carlin & Van Trigt’s staff volunteers in support of charities such as Operation Gratitude, Kids Against Hunger and Ronald McDonald House. Kathryn Hansen of California State University, Los Angeles, was presented with the Outstanding Accounting Educator Award.
Blumshapiro employees and their families prepared hundreds of bags of food to help provide a traditional Thanksgiving meal to more than 1,500 families in New Haven served by Christian Community Action on Nov. 17, as part of the seventh annual Blumshapiro Thanksgiving Food Basket Campaign for Christian Community Action.
Alison Kuczynski was appointed a tax specialist at Rodman CPAs, returning to the firm where she worked from 2005 to 2011 before taking a hiatus.
Brown Smith Wallace, St. Louis, was designated by HITRUST as an approved HITRUST CSF Assessor. The HITRUST Alliance is a nonprofit with the mission to champion programs that safeguard sensitive information and manage information risk for organizations in all industries and throughout the third-party supply chain. Brown Smith Wallace becomes the first St. Louis-based firm to earn the HITRUST CSF designation, a widely adopted security framework in the U.S. health care industry.
Michael Halpert (pictured) was hired as a director in the professional standards group at Marks Paneth, New York.

The New York Society of CPAs’ Cannabis Industry Committee will host its first Cannabis Conference Dec. 11 at Convene, located at 730 3rd Avenue in New York City. More information is available here.
Kimbarley Williams, a principal at Boyer & Ritter CPAs and Consultants, Camp Hill, graduated from Leadership Harrisburg’s Executive Leadership Series, a five-week course that provides insights into the region’s issues and challenges.
The National Association of States Boards of Accountancy, Nashville, announced members of its board of directors for 2018-19: Janice Gray, managing member of Gray, Blodgett and Company in Norman, Oklahoma, to chair (pictured); Laurie Tish, national practice leader for government services at Moss Adams, Seattle, to vice chair; Jack Anderson Bonner, member of the Tennessee Society of CPAs Council, TSCPA Financial Institution Committee and Tennessee State Board of Accountancy, Piney Flats, Tennessee, to Southeast regional director; Michael Womble, managing partner at Williams Overman Pierce, Raleigh, N.C., to Middle Atlantic regional director; Faye Miller, chief auditor for Basin Electric Power Coop and serving on the North Dakota State Board of Accountancy, Bismarck, N.D., to Central regional director; A. Carlos Barrera, partner at Carr, Riggs & Ingram, Brownsville, Texas, to director-at-large; Richard Carroll, executive director of the Kentucky State Board of Accountancy and member of NASBA’s CBT Examination Administration Committee, as executive directors’ liaison. NASBA also announced continuing board members: Catherine Allen Northeast regional director; J. Coalter Baker, director-at-large; Ken Bishop, president & CEO, NASBA; Jimmy Burkes, director-at-large and treasurer; Maria Caldwell, director-at-large; John Dailey, Jr., director-at-large; C. Jack Emmons, Southwest regional director; W. Michael Fritz, director-at-large and secretary; Sheldon Holzman, Great Lakes regional director; Sharon Jensen, director-at-large; Theodore Long, past chair; Nicola Neilon, Mountain regional director; Richard Reisig, director-at-large; Katrina Salazar, Pacific regional director; and Stephanie Saunders, director-at-large.

In other NASBA news, the association honored three professionals for their leadership efforts. Gaylen Hansen, of Denver, received the William H. Van Rensselaer Public Service Award. Harry Parsons, of Reno, Nevada, received the NASBA Distinguished Service Award. Susan Somers, of Topeka, Kansas, received the Lorraine P. Sachs Standard of Excellence Award. (Read the full story.)
Weaver relocated its Dallas office in October to a new multi-use tower, the Union, in the Uptown neighborhood of Dallas, located at 2300 North Field Street.
Wipfli's offices in Wausau, Wisconsin
Wipfli/Joseph Eve, Milwaukee, released its 20th annual report on the gaming industry, ““The 2018 Indian Gaming Cost of Doing Business Report,” featuring data and analysis from tribal casinos and enterprises across the U.S. and providing a business management tool for tribal gaming financial analysis and planning. The report is available for purchase on Joseph Eve’s website. In other firm news, Wipfli/Joseph Eve’s Sage Intacct division received the top Net Promoter Score of all Sage Intacct resellers for 2018.