AICPA announces 2018 John L. Carey Scholarship winners

Register now

The American Institute of CPAs has announced the five student recipients of the 2018-19 John L. Carey Scholarship.

The annual award is given to students from nontraditional accounting backgrounds who have committed to becoming CPAs. Each student will receive a one-year, $5,000 scholarship toward their graduate accounting degrees.

“You don’t necessarily need to major in a business-related field to become a CPA, and this year’s John L. Carey recipients are proof of that,” stated AICPA Foundation president and former AICPA chairman of the board Ernie Almonte. “Students from many different backgrounds enter the accounting profession, and their non-traditional paths often give them valuable insights, as John L. Carey understood.”

Scholarship recipients are chosen based on academic achievement, demonstrated leadership and commitment to the CPA license. Applicants must be full-time graduate students with a minimum GPA of 3.0 and no more than 12 credits in accounting/business during their undergraduate studies.

The 2018-2019 John L. Carey scholarship recipients, in alphabetical order, are:

  • Abigail Belcher - Wake Forest University
  • Glenell Jaquez - SUNY-Binghamton
  • Gemila Mama - Central Connecticut State University
  • Brooke Wages - Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Vincent Wisehoon - SUNY-Albany

Scholarships are funded in part by the award's namesake, John L. Carey, who previously served as the AICPA’s administrative vice president and executive director before retiring from the Institute in 1969. Carey was known for encouraging students of different backgrounds to become CPAs during his time as a professor.
Applications for the 2019-2020 AICPA scholarships will be available on Dec. 1, 2018. For more information, head to the AICPA's site here.

For reprint and licensing requests for this article, click here.
Accounting students CPAs AICPA