AICPA Foundation awards 2019 Minority Doctoral Fellowships

Register now

The American Institute of CPAs Foundation announced that it has granted its 2019 Minority Doctoral Fellowships to 25 minority doctoral students, part of its effort to boost the number of minority accounting educators across the country.

Funding is provided by the Minority Doctoral Fellowship program, providing $12,000 to each student. The fellowships are renewable for up to an additional four years, assuming students continue to meet eligibility requirements.

“The AICPA is committed to building diversity throughout the accounting profession,” stated Steve Matzke, director, faculty and university initiatives at the Association of International Certified Professional Accountants. “We believe that diversifying accounting faculty and putting more CPAs in the class room is a win-win for students and the profession.”

All Minority Doctoral Fellows must be ethnic minorities and U.S. citizens or permanent residents. They also must have earned a master’s degree or worked a minimum three years full-time in the accounting profession.

“The AICPA Foundation is proud to be helping these CPAs along their path toward becoming accounting educators,” said Ernie Almonte, AICPA Foundation president, in a statement. “These individuals will give back to the profession by inspiring the next generation of CPAs.”

The 2019-20 Minority Doctoral Fellowship recipients, as well as the doctoral programs they are attending, are as follows:

  • Christiana Antwi-Obimpeh, University of Texas - San Antonio
  • Candice Boucree, Louisiana State University
  • Ryan Ballestero, University of Texas-Austin
  • Hilda Carrillo, University of South Florida
  • LaToya Flint, University of Mississippi
  • Danielle Gant, Texas Tech University
  • Paige Harrell, Emory University
  • Claudia Hernandez, Florida International University
  • Andria Hill, University of Central Florida
  • Brittani Shantel Jackson, Indiana University
  • Carissa Malone, Virginia Tech University
  • Tendai Masaya, Yale University
  • Ann Mungai, Florida Atlantic University
  • Clay Partridge, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Christian Paparcuri, Arizona State University
  • Devon Privette Jefferson, Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Iguehi Rajsky, Temple University
  • Jeremy Richardson, Texas Tech University
  • Vernan Rivera, University of Connecticut
  • Edgar Rodriguez Vazquez, University of Washington
  • Christina Ruiz, Arizona State University
  • Nuria Seijas, University of Arizona
  • Syrena Shirley, Pennsylvania State University
  • Andrea Tillet, Florida State University
  • Kimberly Walker, University of Wisconsin-Madison

The 2020-21 application will be available on March 1, 2020. For more information, head to the AICPA's site here.

For reprint and licensing requests for this article, click here.
Diversity and equality Accounting education AICPA