AICPA honors two at 2019 Fall Tax Division Meeting

Register now

The American Institute of CPAs honored two professionals during its 2019 Fall Tax Division Meeting — held Nov. 14 and 15 in Washington, D.C. — with the Tax Division Distinguished Service Award and the Arthur J. Dixon Memorial Award.

Blake Vickers received the Distinguished Service Award during a reception for Tax Division members on Nov. 14. The Tax Division Distinguished Service Award recognizes those who have made notable contributions to the AICPA Tax Division. Recipients are nominated by members of the AICPA Tax Executive Committee.

Vickers currently works at Corning Incorporated, where he focuses on tax policy and regulatory affairs. He serves on both the AICPA’s Tax Executive Committee and as chair of the Global Tax Issues Task Force. Vickers has also authored a number AICPA whitepapers on the OECD taxation of the digital economy and European Union digital tax proposals.

“Blake’s impressive and diverse background in international taxation and his significant contribution to our communications with the OECD have become a valuable resource to the AICPA," stated AICPA vice president of taxation Edward Karl. "It is his exemplary work that gives the AICPA voice in the digital tax process. There is no more deserving individual to receive this award.”

Jane Rubin received the 2019 Arthur J. Dixon Memorial Award, the highest award given in the area of taxes. The award highlights those who demonstrate the professionalism of the award's namesake, who served as chairman of the Tax Executive Committee from 1977 to 1980.

Rubin has served on a number of AICPA committees and task forces and volunteered her time in the area of tax education. Rubin also currently serves on the AICPA National Accreditation Commission.

“Jane truly exemplifies what it means to have ‘a heart of a volunteer,’" stated Jeffrey Porter, a member of the AICPA’s board of directors and past Arthur J. Dixon Award recipient. "She continuously invests her time in something she passionately believes in — advancing the education of the tax profession. Her commitment to the profession and her dedication to tax education are an inspiration. We are pleased to honor her with this well-deserved award."

For reprint and licensing requests for this article, click here.