AICPA names 2016 Public Service Award winner

Register now

The AICPA announced this week that the organization has honored Joseph Zanco with its 2016 Public Service Award for Individuals.

This annual award looks to honor professionals who exhibit notable public service. Zanco, of Lafayette, La., was chosen from a pool of candidates nominated by AICPA members and state societies. Zanco was presented with the award Sunday at the AICPA's spring council meeting in Washington, D.C.

“Among a number of excellent candidates nominated for the Public Service Award, Joe stood out for both the diversity of his public service and the selflessness he has shown in supporting his community and the CPA profession,” stated Ryan Screnar, chair of the AICPA’s Awards Committee. “We salute all of our nominees for the tremendous effort they are putting forth to improve life in their communities.”

Zanco was recognized, in part, for his efforts in teaching Louisiana inmates financial literacy skills, acting as a member of the board of directors and past chairman of One Acadiana - an organization that promotes regional economic development - and acting as vice chair of the Finance Committee on the Board of Trustees for Lafayette General Health. Zanco is also the founder of "Lead the Change Now," a movement based on championing personal responsibility and helping others.

Zanco was previously honored with the Junior Achievement of Acadiana’s Business Person of the Year award and the Louisiana CPAs (LCPA's) Distinguished Public Service Award, the society's highest honor for public service.

For a list of past AICPA Public Service Award winners and more information on the award, head to the AICPA's site here.

For reprint and licensing requests for this article, click here.
Philanthropy AICPA