AICPA names 2017-18 Fellowship for Minority Doctoral Students recipients

Register now

The American Institute of CPAs announced the recipients of the 2017-18 Fellowship for Minority Doctoral Students this week, awarding 27 young professionals a total of $318,000.

The annual program aims to boost the number of minority CPAs teaching in classrooms across the country.

“One of the best ways to foster increased diversity in the accounting profession is by working to increase the number of diverse faculty in the classroom,” stated Randy Fletchall, president of the AICPA Foundation Board of Trustees. “This fellowship allows doctoral students with diverse backgrounds and different perspectives to pursue careers in academia and ultimately serve as role models and mentors to students.”

Fellowship applicants must be ethnic minorities and citizens/permanent U.S. residents who have earned a master’s degree or completed at least three years of full-time accounting work, in addition to planning to pursue a CPA license.

The following are the 2017-18 Minority Doctoral Fellowship recipients, listed in alphabetical order:

  • Joye (Baugh) Norwood - Jackson State University
  • Candice Boucree - Louisiana State University
  • Ryan Ballestero - University of Texas-Austin
  • Jerome Conley - University of Tennessee
  • LaToya Flint - University of Mississippi
  • Danielle Gant - Texas Tech University
  • Claudia Hernandez - Florida International University
  • Chevonne Alston (Herring) - University of Mississippi
  • Andria Hill - University of Central Florida
  • Ethan LaMothe - University of South Carolina
  • Carissa Malone - Virginia Tech University
  • Sydnee Manley - University of Mississippi
  • Christina Ruiz Mueller - Arizona State University
  • Ann Mungai - Florida Atlantic University
  • Patricia Navarro-Velez - University of Central Florida
  • Clay Partridge - University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Christian Paparcuri - Arizona State University
  • Iguehi Rajsky - Temple University
  • Edgar Rodriguez - University of Washington
  • Giovani Rodriguez Martinez - Texas Tech University
  • Andrea Rozario - Rutgers University
  • Nuria Seijas - University of Arizona
  • Syrena Shirley - Pennsylvania State University
  • Justin C. Short - University of Tennessee
  • Phylicia Taylor - Jackson State University
  • Andrea Tillet - Florida State University
  • Kimberly Walker - University of Wisconsin-Madison

The 2018-19 application period will be open on March 1, 2018. For more information, head to the AICPA's site here.

For reprint and licensing requests for this article, click here.
Diversity and equality AICPA