AICPA names 2018 Minority Doctoral Fellowship recipients

Register now

The American Institute of CPAs has named the recipients of its 2018 Minority Doctoral Fellowship. Each awardee will receive $12,000 to aid them on their way to becoming future accounting professors and role models for the profession.

“By providing these fellowships, the AICPA is helping to build a more diverse accounting profession,” stated Steve Matzke, director of faculty and university initiatives at the Association of International Certified Professional Accountants. “The AICPA believes that a workforce better reflecting the communities it serves will position the profession to serve their clients well into the future.”

To qualify for the award, Minority Doctoral Fellows must be ethnic minorities, U.S. citizens or permanent residents, and must have a master’s degree or have worked full-time in the accounting profession for at least three years.

“The fellowship allows me to really focus on being successful in my program as I work towards my goal of becoming a university educator,” said Ryan Ballestero, a 2018 Minority Doctoral Fellowship recipient, in a statement. “Through the annual AICPA networking event, the fellowship has provided me with an opportunity to connect with other students and faculty who have a similar background and career path as me.”

The 2018-2019 Minority Doctoral Fellowship recipients are:

  • Ryan Ballestero - University of Texas-Austin
  • Joye (Baugh) Norwood - Jackson State University
  • Candice Boucree - Louisiana State University
  • Jerome Conley - University of Tennessee
  • LaToya Flint - University of Mississippi
  • Danielle Gant - Texas Tech University
  • Claudia Hernandez - Florida International University
  • Andria Hill - University of Central Florida
  • Brittani Shantel Jackson - Indiana University
  • Ethan LaMothe - University of South Carolina
  • Carissa Malone - Virginia Tech University
  • Ann Mungai - Florida Atlantic University
  • Patricia Navarro-Velez - University of Central Florida
  • Christian Paparcuri - Arizona State University
  • Clay Partridge - University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Iguehi Rajsky - Temple University
  • Edgar Rodriguez - University of Washington
  • Giovani Rodriguez Martinez - Texas Tech University
  • Andrea Rozario - Rutgers University
  • Christina Ruiz Mueller - Arizona State University
  • Nuria Seijas - University of Arizona
  • Syrena Shirley - Pennsylvania State University
  • Phylicia Taylor - Jackson State University
  • Andrea Tillet - Florida State University
  • Kimberly Walker - University of Wisconsin-Madison

Applications for the 2019-20 Minority Doctoral Fellowship will be available on March 1, 2019. For more information, head to the AICPA's site here.

For reprint and licensing requests for this article, click here.
Diversity and equality Continuing education Accounting education AICPA