Trade organization the Certified Management Accountants of Canada has produced a "CMA Competency Map" in support of national standards for the accreditation, continuing education and professional development of certified management accountants.

"[The document] clearly defines what a management accountant is, and what the market expects of CMAs throughout their careers," said president and chief executive Steve Vieweg, in a statement. "It fosters in CMAs the development and growth of the unparalleled competencies that enable them to build successful businesses and careers."

The three pillars of the CMA profession are accounting, management and strategy. In today's business environment, the three are very closely related. The map describes six integrated functional competencies and four "soft" competencies that CMAs are expected to acquire based on a career life-cycle approach, instead of defining competencies in relation to very specific tasks.

The document is available from CMA Canada's Web site at

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access