Illinois CPA Society awards $76K in scholarships

Register now

The Illinois CPA Society said Thursday it has awarded $76,000 in tuition and textbook scholarships to 39 deserving accounting students in the state, as part of the Society’s Accounting Scholarship Program.

Finance by contributions from the CPA Endowment Fund of Illinois, the Scholarship Program looks to recognize accounting students who demonstrate strong academic and leadership skills, as well as financial need.

“We’re extremely proud to support this impressive group of students as they develop into the future leaders of our profession,” said Todd Shapiro, president and CEO of the Illinois CPA Society, in a statement. “We’re especially thankful to our generous donors who are providing the resources to help these students seek bright futures.”

The CPA Endowment Fund awards approximately $200,000 annually in scholarships and outreach programs to more than 150 accounting students across the state. Other Society initiatives, such as the Jumpstart to Accounting Program and CPA Exam Award Program, further help students by building their business skills before entering profession, and helping them pay for their CPA exam fees.

The 2018-2019 tuition and textbook recipients are:

  • Andrew Allen - Judson University
  • Rachel Anderson - Augustana College
  • Sam Carani - Judson University
  • Lynne Church - Illinois State University
  • Paige Cosgrove - Northern Illinois University
  • Christine Crews - Northern Illinois University
  • Kevin Curnow - Illinois State University
  • Kamila Czeczot - Northern Illinois University
  • Katherine Draper - Aurora University
  • Maria Grigortsuk - University of Illinois
  • Maira Gutierrez - Governors State University
  • Liliana Herrera - Elmhurst College
  • Nathaniel Hopkins - Aurora University
  • Grace Horman - Southern Illinois University
  • Abigail Jockisch - Bradley University
  • Jessica John - Illinois State University
  • Jemilyia Johnson - Western Illinois University
  • Deanna Kennedy - Illinois State University
  • Clare Kitchell - Northern Illinois University
  • Daniel Kozlak - Northern Illinois University
  • Madelyn May - Illinois Wesleyan University
  • Blake McCormick - Bradley University
  • Bridget Metzger - Northern Illinois University
  • Meghan Mokate - University of Illinois
  • Christopher Neal - Northern Illinois University
  • Anthony Orozco - Northern Illinois University
  • Natalie Pritchard - Illinois State University
  • Nicole Quitman - University of Illinois at Chicago
  • Noemi Reyes - DePaul University
  • Carissa Rice - University of Illinois
  • Connor Rodheim - Northern Illinois University
  • Kiara Schuh - University of Illinois
  • Julia Schweizer - Loyola University
  • Jaclyn Shan - Eastern Illinois University
  • Paul Tobin - University of Illinois
  • Zaria Ward - Southern Illinois University
  • Sierra Weber - Eastern Illinois University
  • Jesse Wilson - University of Illinois
  • Chad Young - Northern Illinois University

For more information on the CPA Endowment Fund of Illinois, head to the Society's site here.

For reprint and licensing requests for this article, click here.
Accounting students CPA Exam Corporate philanthropy