Illinois CPA Society names 2019 Excel Award recipients

Register now

The Illinois CPA Society has announced the recipients of its 2019 Excel Awards, highlighting Uniform CPA Exam test-takers in the state with the highest scores on the 2018 CPA Exam.

Award winners must have a combined average score of 90 percent or higher on all exam sections within two consecutive testing windows, in addition to placing in the top 5 percent of all Illinois scores. The designated Gold, Silver and Bronze Medals represent the top three scores in the state.

"It’s always a thrill to honor the outstanding future leaders of the accounting profession,” stated Todd Shapiro, president and CEO of the Illinois CPA Society. “By earning the highest scores on the CPA Exam, these dedicated individuals have set a high bar of excellence. We congratulate all these new CPAs and look forward to seeing them build successful careers.”

This year’s Excel Award winners are:

  • Gold Medal Award: Siying (Clara) Yang (University of Notre Dame; Deloitte)
  • Silver Medal Award: Hayden Cecilia Bauer (University of Notre Dame; KPMG)
  • Bronze Medal Award: Kerry Walley (University of Illinois at Chicago; True Partners Consulting)
  • Excel Award recipients: Shan Lu (Northern Illinois University; Auxilium Financial Services); Owen Mattingly (Indiana University Bloomington; EY – People Advisory Services); Patrick Doyle McMahon (University of Notre Dame; EY); Abigail Moynihan (Truman State University); Garrett Joseph Stein (Miami University-Oxford; Andersen Tax)

For more on the Illinois CPA Society, head to the ICPAS site here.

For reprint and licensing requests for this article, click here.
CPA Exam Accounting students