The National Society of Accountants honored a number of accountants and NSA Affiliated State Organizations who made strong contributions to the accounting profession at its 69th Annual Meeting in Baltimore.

Accountant of the Year: This award was presented to Christine Giovetti, of Catonsville, Md., for outstanding achievement and service to the NSA, the accounting and tax profession, the state society, and the community. Giovetti has either chaired or been a member of nearly all NSA committees. She is a Fellow of the Inaugural Class of the National Tax Practice Institute of the National Association of Enrolled Agents and earned the Maryland Society of Accountants Tax Professionals Fellow designation 22 years ago. She is a past president of the Maryland Society of Accounting & Tax Professionals.

Distinguished Service Award: This award was presented to Carolyn Holomon of Phoenix for significant and exemplary contributions for the betterment of NSA and its membership as well as the accounting profession. The award recognizes continuous service, loyalty and dedication to the NSA. Holomon has served the NSA for many years as a committee member, committee chair and district governor. This past year she was asked to step in at the middle of the year to serve as administrative chair of the NSA Governance Committee, where she helped develop the proxy voting process used at this year’s convention as well as other issues faced by the Governance Committee.

Affiliated State Organization of the Year: The ASO award went to the Arkansas Society of Accountants for its commitment to the NSA and its members during the past year. This society supports its members through education, newsletters, ethical standards, and a commitment to excellence and was well represented at the NSA conference.

Norma Kraus Award: This award is given to the best State Director of the year. The recipient for 2014 was Joanne M. Elsen of Phoenix. She has served on the Governors’ State Director Committee and is a member of the Ten Plus Club, having recruited 21 members. This award recognizes her enthusiasm and dedication to the NSA.

National Editorial Award: The award for best article was presented to Randall Carlson for his article, “Does your After Tax Season Schedule include the SPA?,” which was featured in the May 2014 issue of the Kansas Public Accountant. In the article, Carlson encouraged members to take time after tax season to reflect on enjoying a good quality of life by following the acronym SPA, which stands for the characteristics of Spiritual-Physical-Attitude. The article encouraged readers to take time to set a plan, refocus and restructure priorities. 

The award for best series of articles was presented to Gerry Waddell for his “Notes from the ASA President” column, featured in ASA News, published by the Arkansas Society of Accountants. The column covered a variety of topics including a personal story providing a caution to readers about disaster planning and the importance of accountants taking an active role in local, state and national government.

Keith Billings Memorial Award: This award is given in memory of Keith Billings, a mainstay of the original NSA Editorial Review Committee, and recognizes the most outstanding Affiliate State Organization publication based on content, coverage of activities, timeliness of articles, newsletter format and overall appearance. The award for ASOs with fewer than 350 members went to the Public Accountants Society of Colorado. The award for ASOs with 350 members or more went to the Independent Accountants Association of Illinois.

Best ASO Website: This award, which recognizes site appearance, content and usability, went to the Public Accountants Society of Colorado (for Affiliated State Organizations with fewer than 350 members) and the Minnesota Association of Public Accountants (for ASOs with 350 members or more).

Outstanding Tax Talker Award: This award recognizes an NSA member for their exceptional participation on the NSA Tax Talk, an online discussion forum launched in 2006 that grows in popularity every year. Members often cite it as one of the NSA benefits they value most. The award went to Peggy Johnson for her advice on a range of topics.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access