NSA announces 2018 scholarship recipients

Register now

The National Society of Accountants and its Scholarship Foundation announced the 25 college students who have received its 2018 scholarships, worth a combined $33,200.

The NSA Scholarship Foundation has now provided over $1 million in aid to undergraduate and graduate accounting students since its inception in 1969. Scholarships range from $500 to $2,500 each, with recipients chosen based on factors such as academic achievement, leadership, and financial need.

“The NSA Scholarship Foundation assists dedicated students who are committed to a career in accounting by providing financial assistance to support their education,” said foundation president Donny Woods, in a statement. “The 25 students selected for this year’s scholarships are among the best and brightest. NSA is pleased to assist these highly-qualified young accountants and we look forward to having them join the accounting profession.”

The 2018 scholarship recipients are listed below, along with their university and sponsoring NSA-affiliated organization or scholarship:

  • Jared Bolt - Harding University. Arkansas Society of Accountants: $1,000
  • Jaylun Brumfield - Louisiana State University-Baton Rouge. Louisiana Society of Independent Accountants: $2,000
  • KeiAsia Coates - University of Maryland-College Park. National Society of Accountants: $1,500
  • Adam Cochran - University of Missouri-Columbia. Missouri Society of Accountants: $1,000
  • Greg Dittman - University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Nebraska Society of Independent Accountants: $1,000
  • Nicole Earl - Yavapai College. Arizona Society of Practicing Accountants: $1,000
  • Kenneth Fenster - University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus. Pennsylvania Society of Tax & Accounting Professionals: $1,000
  • Dillon Groves - Ouachita Baptist University. Ronny Woods Memorial Award: $1,000
  • Linjiang Han - University of Virginia-Main Campus. NSA Sager Award: $1,000
  • Kingston Handley - University of North Carolina at Charlotte. North Carolina Society of Accountants: 2,000
  • Terrence Henderson - University of Phoenix-Phoenix-Hohokam Campus. Arizona Society of Practicing Accountants: $1,000
  • Nia Hill - Howard University. Independent Accountants Association of Illinois: $1,000
  • Jacob Isiminger - Spring Arbor University. Milton Brown Award: $1,000
  • Anton Khokhryakov - University of Oregon. Oregon Association of Independent Accountants: $1,000
  • Monica Linn - James Madison University. Millard Ashley Memorial Award: $1,000
  • Audrey Manser - University of Wisconsin-Madison. Wisconsin Association of Accountants: $1,500
  • Amanda Muscha - Montana State University. Montana Society of Public Accountants: 1,000
  • Josie Orvik - Washington State University. Washington Association of Accountants: $2,100
  • Theodore Proctor - Plymouth State University. New Hampshire Tax and Accounting Professionals: $1,000
  • Roy Rosekrans - Georgia State University. Georgia Association of Accountants and Tax Professionals: $1,100
  • Victoria Schmidlin - Pacific Lutheran University. Washington Association of Accountants: 2,100
  • Alisia Szablewski - University of Wisconsin-Parkside. Wisconsin Association of Accountants Southeast Chapter: $500
  • Ryan Waelde - The University of Alabama. Alabama Association of Accountants and Tax Preparers: $2,400
  • Adeline Weems - Stetson University. Public Accountants Society of Colorado Chester Borelli Award: $1,000
  • Lawrence Williams - University of Louisiana-Lafayette. Louisiana Society of Independent Accountants: $1,000

For more on the foundation, head to the NSA's site here.

For reprint and licensing requests for this article, click here.
Accounting students Accounting education National Society of Accountants