The National Society of Accountants gave awards for Accountant of the Year and other honors at its recent annual meeting.

The Accountant of the Year award went to Bill Parrish, a longtime NSA member who was recognized for his volunteer efforts on behalf of the organization. Parrish has also spoken on behalf of the NSA at the IRS Nationwide Tax Forums and in NSA webinars. He is also a previous NSA administrative chair, Speaker of the Year, past governor, and past president of the Accreditation Council for Accountancy & Taxation.

The award for Affiliated State Organization of the Year went to the Washington Society of Accountants for its work in hosting a joint district meeting representing 11 states in October 2009 and working for the success of the NSA and its leadership. The society also promoted new ASO leadership by committing people and full funding for participation in NSA leadership programs and encouraging service on NSA committees.

Cynthia Hunt of Alabama was honored with the Norma Kraus Memorial Award as State Director of the Year. She was praised for her dedication in attending NSA events and her ASO-sponsored events, continuously prospecting for new members, setting up an NSA booth at seminars, delivering reports to her district governor, and more.

The Distinguished Service Award was presented to Carolynn Holomon in recognition of her contributions for the betterment of NSA and its membership, as well as the accounting profession.

The Keith Billings Memorial Award was presented to two ASO publications -- the Mississippi Accountants’ Register, published by the Mississippi Association of Public Accountants, and The MAPAN, published by the Minnesota Association of Public Accountants.

The National Editorial Award went to Jim Fonte of the Louisiana Society of Independent Accountants for his article, “Annual Convention Update,” which appeared in the Louisiana Independent Accountant.

The Charles W. McAllister Award was given to ASOs in two categories honoring them for the highest net increase in NSA membership during the past year. For Division I (fewer than 500 members), the award went to the Maine Association of Professional Accountants, and for Division II (500 members or more), the award went to the Florida Society of Accountants.

The Best ASO Website Award was presented to ASOs in two categories. For Division I (fewer than 300 members), the award went to the California Society of Accounting and Tax Professionals, and for Division II (300 or more members), the award went to the Maryland Society of Accountants.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access