The Ohio Society of CPAs installed J. Matthew Yuskewich as chairman of the executive board at the society’s June 30 Members Summit & Annual Meeting.

Yuskewich, a partner at the Winterset CPA Group in Columbus, also received the OSCPA’s inaugural Outstanding Member Volunteer Award in 2007. He has chaired several committees, including the Finance Committee and the Governmental Affairs Advisory Council. He also served as a member of the OSCPA board. He has been highly active in the American Institute of CPAs and has served on various volunteer boards and committees in his community.

“The leadership of our organization has been exceptional and I hope I am able to continue the fine tradition of those before me,” Yuskewich said in comments following his installation.
The Ohio Society also installed new officers for the 2009-2010 fiscal year and honored four CPAs:

Peter A. Margaritis, CPA, Margaritis Financial Services, LLC (Columbus), became chair-elect. Jay J. Moeller, CPA (Troy) of Battelle & Battelle LLP, moved into the position of immediate past chair and will remain on the executive board until June 2010.

Brian D. Marita, CPA, partner, Ciuni & Panichi Inc. (Beachwood), a current board member, moved into the position of vice chair, finance.

The following individuals were named to new, two-year terms on the executive board: Kristine G. Devine, CPA, partner, Deloitte & Touche, LLP (Columbus); Walter J. Eckert, CPA, CVA, shareholder, Russell, Eckert, Mealer &Kalb CPAs, Inc. (Columbus); Christopher D. Flaig, CPA, MBA, assurance manager, Joseph Decosimo & Co. LLC (Cincinnati); Annette J. Rader, CPA, audit and tax staff, Radel Smith & Associates (Bowling Green); Daniel M. Spilman, CPA, ABV, CFF, managing principle and founder, Spilman Hills & Heidebrink Ltd. (Toledo); and Elizabeth A. Frey, CPA, MBA, global sourcing strategist, American Greetings Corporation (Cleveland).

The following individuals are continuing two-year terms on the executive board: Jennifer Fallows, CPA, Moskal, Gross Orchosky Inc. (Wadsworth); James P. Gero, CPA, Hobe & Lucas CPAs (Strongsville); Michael A. Petrecca, CPA, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP (Columbus); and Craig M. Steinhoff, CPA, Hill Barth & King LLC (Boardman).

In addition, the OSCPA recognized four member CPAs for their contributions to the accounting profession. Thomas D. Hazelbaker, CPA, a shareholder with Clark Schaefer Hackett & Co. (Middletown), was awarded the Ohio Society of CPAs 2009 Gold Medal for Meritorious Service to the Accounting Profession. This is the society’s highest member honor. Jerry L. Esselstein, CPA, owner of Jerry Esselstein Company, LLC (Columbus), received the 2009 Outstanding Member Volunteer Award. David A. Brockman, CPA, managing director of Brockman, Coats Gedelian & Co. (Akron) was honored with the 2009 Public Service Award in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the greater Akron community. Gerald P. Weinstein, CPA, Ph.D., chair of the accountancy department at John Carroll University (Cleveland), received the 2009 Outstanding Ohio Educator Award at the annual American Accounting Association Ohio Region awards in May. 

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access