The Public Company Accounting Oversight Board named 17 new members and reappointed members of its Standing Advisory Group, who will serve three-year terms starting next month.

The SAG advises the PCAOB on the development of auditing and related professional practice standards. The advisory group includes experts in the fields of accounting, auditing, financial reporting, corporate finance and corporate governance, along with experts in investing in public companies. With the new and reappointed members, the SAG now stands at 42 members.

"The SAG consists of experts who have a stake in the preparation of informative, accurate and independent audit reports,” said PCAOB Chairman James R. Doty in a statement. “Its members are an important source of insight and advice to the board.”

The PCAOB issued a request for SAG nominations in May, as it does annually. Membership in the advisory group is personal to the member, and the duties and responsibilities cannot be delegated to others.

The names of the 2014 SAG members are listed below, including 25 continuing members:

New Appointments
•    Charles M. Elson, Edgar S. Wollard, Jr. Chair of Corporate Governance and Director, John L. Weinberg Center for Corporate Governance, University of Delaware
•    Philip R. Johnson, Nonexecutive Director, Yorkshire Building Society
•    Guy R. Jubb, Global Head of Governance and Stewardship, Standard Life Investments, Ltd.
•    Douglas L. Maine, Limited Partner and Senior Advisor, Brown Brothers Harriman & Co.
•    Maureen F. McNichols, Marriner S. Eccles Professor of Public and Private Management and Professor of Accounting, Stanford University
•    Rachel D. Polson, Partner, Baker Tilly Virchow Krause, LLP
•    Gregory A. Pratt, Chairman, Carpenter Technology Corporation
•    Sridhar Ramamoorti, Associate Professor of Accounting, School of Accountancy, and Director, Corporate Governance Center, Kennesaw State University
•    Brandon J. Rees, Acting Director, Office of Investment, AFL-CIO
•    Richard W. Roedel, Public company board member
•    Philip J. Santarelli, Chief Risk Officer, ParenteBeard, LLC
•    Thomas I. Selling, President, Grove Technologies, LLC
•    Sir David P. Tweedie, Chairman, International Valuation Standards Council

•    Michael J. Gallagher, Managing Partner, Assurance Quality, PwC
•    Robert B. Hirth, Jr., Chairman, Committee of Sponsoring Organizations of the Treadway Commission (COSO)
•    Richard H. Murray, CEO, Liability Dynamics Consulting, LLC
•    Charles V. Senatore, Head of Corporate Compliance, Fidelity Investments

Continuing Members
•    Hon. Richard C. Breeden, Chairman and CEO, Breeden Capital Management LLC
•    Steven E. Buller, Managing Director, BlackRock, Inc.
•    Loretta V. Cangialosi, Senior Vice President and Controller, Pfizer, Inc.
•    Peter C. Clapman, Chairman and President, Governance for Owners LLP; public company board member
•    Walton T. Conn, Jr., U. S. Partner and Global Head of Audit Methodology and Implementation, KPMG LLP
•    J. Michael Cook, Public company board member
•    Wallace R. Cooney, Vice President-Finance and Chief Accounting Officer, Graham Holdings Company
•    James D. Cox, Brainerd Currie Professor of Law, School of Law, Duke University
•    Jerry M. de St. Paer, Senior Advisory Partner, Grail Partners LLC
•    Robert L. Guido, Public company board member
•    Robert H. Herz, CEO, Robert H. Herz LLC; Executive-in-Residence, Columbia Business School, Columbia University
•    Bruce J. Jorth, Chief Risk Officer, McGladrey, LLP
•    Jean M. Joy, Director of Professional Practice and Director of Financial Institutions Practice, Wolf & Company, P.C.
•    Wayne A. Kolins, Partner, BDO USA, LLP; Global Head of Audit and Accounting, BDO International Limited
•    Jeffrey P. Mahoney, General Counsel, Council of Institutional Investors
•    Elizabeth F. Mooney, Analyst, The Capital Group Companies
•    Jennifer Paquette, Chief Investment Officer, Colorado Public Employees' Retirement Association
•    William T. Platt, Managing Partner, Professional Practice, and Chief Quality Officer — Attest, Deloitte & Touche, LLP
•    Kevin B. Reilly, Americas Vice Chair, Professional Practice and Risk Management, Ernst & Young LLP
•    Walter G. Ricciardi, Partner, Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison, LLP
•    Barbara L. Roper, Director of Investor Protection, Consumer Federation of America
•    Kurt N. Schacht, Managing Director, Chartered Financial Analysts Institute
•    D. Scott Showalter, Professor of Practice, Department of Accounting, Poole College of Management, North Carolina State University
•    Brian D. Thelen, General Auditor and Chief Risk Officer, General Motors LLC
•    John W. White, Partner, Corporate Department, Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP

Member biographies and information about the SAG are available on the PCAOB’s Web site.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access