A roundup of recent hires, promotions, awards and other personnel news from firms across the country.


Ian Howells has joined Intacct, San Jose, as vice president of market development. … Eric Hunter, Eugene Sung, Rex Yuen and Sherlice Nichols have been promoted to manager at DZH Phillips, San Francisco.


Basil Karampelas has joined the Atlanta office of BDO USA LLP as a managing director in the business restructuring and turnaround services practice.



Jim Brady has been appointed COO at Grant Thornton. (See the story) … Louis Sands has joined Sikich LLP, Naperville, as a director in the tax practice.


Clint Goebel, a senior accountant at Lewis, Hooper & Dick LLC, Garden City, has earned his CPA license.


Julya Faulkner, a graduate student at Ohio Northern University, has been awarded Beta Alpha Psi’s Medal of Inspiration Award at its Annual Meeting in Baltimore. The award, sponsored by the AICPA, is bestowed upon a student who has experienced extreme hardships and demonstrated an unusually high level of success despite that adversity. The award includes a $5,000 cash stipend. At the age of eight, Faulkner was diagnosed with Ewing’s Sarcoma, a rare form of bone cancer, but despite these hardships, Julya went to graduate with honors from high school, and was accepted to Ohio Northern University with a full scholarship. Outside of school, Faulkner runs a successful cake decorating business, Cakes by Julya. … Laura Macauley, firm administrator at HeimLantz, Annapolis, has been elected president of the District of Columbia Chapter of the CPA Firm Management Association.



Kristin Costa, a senior tax manager at Baker Newman Noyes, has been selected to join the Professional Advisors Committee of the Boston Foundation.


Ashley Cook and Alyssa Hurtado have joined Maner Costerisan, Lansing, as associates in the Business Accounting Services Department. … Greg Schulte, a manager at Clayton & McKervey, has been named to the Board of the Michigan Chapter of the German American Chamber of Commerce of the Midwest


Brown Smith Wallace, St. Louis, announced a number of promotions: Jennifer Cassidy and Alan DeVaughan have been promoted to manager in advisory services; Matt Hans to manager in tax services; Stephanie Hardt to manager in audit service; Nataliya Mamrenko to manager in the Entrepreneurial Services Group; Cory Metz to manager in advisory services; Scott Ngo, Casey Pelech, Michelle Schneider and Emily Sill to manager in tax services; Jonathan Steur to manager in audit services; Kevin Boeving, Richie Kingree and Sean McKenzie have been promoted to principal, in tax services; Bianca Sarrach to principal in advisory services; and Dan Schoenleber to principal in transaction advisory and litigation support. … Michael R. Stafford has joined Anders CPAs + Advisors, St. Louis, as director of finance and administration.



Walter J. Brasch, a partner and chief business development officer at PFK O’Connor Davies, has been installed as the 2016-17 president of the New Jersey Society of CPAs.



The American Institute of CPAs announced the winners of the Notable Contributions to Accounting Literature Award: Dr. Ilia Dichev, of Emory University; Dr. John Graham, of the Duke Center for Finance at the Fuqua School of Business at Duke University; Dr. Campbell Harvey, of the Fuqua School of Business at Duke University; and Dr. Shivaram Rajgopal, of the Columbia Business School at Columbia University. The four professors shared an award prize of $2,500 for their work. … Steven Montemagno has joined Gettry Marcus CPA PC, Woodbury, as director of information Technology. … Joanne S. Barry, executive director and CEO of the New York State Society of CPAs, received the City and State’s 2016 Corporate Social Responsibility Award.


April Adams has been promoted to partner in the Government Services Group in the Raleigh office of Cherry Bekaert LLP.


Mary Stretar, director of marketing at Service 1st Payroll, Cleveland, will now serve as executive vice president. In addition, Chastin Darmafall has joined the company as vice president of operations. … Mary Beth Koester has joined Rea & Associates, Dublin, as manager of business valuations. Ben Jonard and Cathy Levins have also joined the business valuations practice; Jonard will focus on oil and gas-related entities and tax-related valuations, while Levins will concentrate on family limited partnerships and service-related businesses.



Boyer & Ritter LLC, Camp Hill, announced a number of new hires and promotions: Recent college graduates Daniel Ryan, Emily J. Griffith, Jordan Sallavanti, Christine Shontz and Evan J. Dickinson have joined the firm, while Jeremy D. Medernach has been promoted to director; Jennifer L. Hoover and Melissa L. Hetner to supervisor; Robin Z. Monroe to tax supervisor; and Zachary A. Boyd, Kyle R. Evans, Derek R. Heath and Chad D. Levan to senior associate.


The National Association of State Boards of Accountancy, Nashville, announced the recipients of its Accounting Education Research Grants Program for 2016, who will receive research grants totaling $24.500: Adrian L. Mayse, of Howard University; Nathan H. Jeppson and Mary B. Burns, of Montana State University; and Kamala Raghavan, of Texas Southern University.


Jason Cope has been promoted to assurance senior manager, and Greta Goddard to assurance senior, at Goldin Peiser & Peiser LLP, Dallas.


Michelle Avery to has been named president and senior managing director of Veris Consulting Inc., Reston.



Wajeha Arshad has joined Schlichting Wixson CPAs, Bellingham, as a staff accountant in the international tax practice, while staff accountant Victoria Hendricks has been certified by Intuit as a QuickBooks ProAdvisor. … Jocelyn Muhl has joined King & Oliason PLLC, Seattle, as a tax supervisor.



The American Institute of CPAs gave out a number of awards at its National Governmental Accounting and Auditing Update Conference: Sam McCall, of Tallahassee, Fla., received the 2016 Outstanding CPA in Government Career Contribution Award in honor or his lifelong contribution to the profession; Paul Curtis, of Waldorf, Md., received the 2016 Outstanding CPA in Government Impact Award at the federal level; and Kristen Scalise, of Green, Ohio, received the 2016 Outstanding CPA in Government Impact Award at the local level.


Dr. Penne Ainsworth, the chairperson of the Department of Accounting at the University of Wyoming, received the 2016 AICPA Distinguished Achievement in Accounting Education Award from the American Institute of CPAs at the annual meeting of the American Accounting Association.

Send your personnel announcements to AcToday@SourceMedia.com.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access