A roundup of recent new hires, promotions, new credentials and other personnel news from firms across the country and around the world.


Keith Glen, a senior tax manager at Gilbert Associates Inc., Sacramento, has been named the firm's tenth shareholder. ... Mark C. Hutchison has joined Armanino LLP, San Ramon, as a tax partner. He brings with him a team of five professionals with a combined 20 years of tax experience in the entertainment industry. ... Gallina LLP, Roseville, has promoted three senior managers to partner: Byron DeStigter in Salt Lake City; Ashley Kroyer in Walnut Creek; and John Werlhof in Rancho Cordova. ... Patrick Hynes has joined the Los Angeles office of PwC US as a principal in the advisory cybersecurity practice.



Greg Kalkwarf, marketing leader for the Colorado offices of BKD CPAs & Advisors, has earned the Accreditation in Public Relations designation from the Universal Accreditation Board. ... James Brendel has been named managing partner of Hein & Associates LLP, succeeding Brian Mandell-Rice. Brendel is a 28-year veteran of the firm and most recently served as Denver office managing partner. He is only the fourth managing partner in the firm's 38-year history.



BlumShapiro, West Hartford, has elected five new partners: Thomas Dearnley, James Harper, Jennifer P. Hogencamp, William F. Murray and Ronald W. Nossek.



Lee Bell has become president of Saltmarsh, Cleaveland & Gund, Tampa. He has been with the firm since 2001, and also leads the Business Advisory Group. The firm also announced a number of promotions: Laura Harris, Gabe Shibly, Josh Strickland, Mary Kerchner and Christina Maslen have been promoted to manager, and Margaret Vining to senior.



Raygan Evans and Jenna Walker have been promoted from senior manager to partner at Bennett Thrasher LLP, Atlanta.



Timothy F. Cibulka has become managing partner of Legacy Professionals LLP, Chicago, succeeding Robert Tiberi. ... François Vincent has rejoined KPMG as a principal in the economic and valuation services practice.



MCM CPAs & Advisors has appointed three new partners: Kim Friend and Melanie Clark in the Jeffersonville office, and Drew Chambers in the Louisville office.



Carl Chatto has become managing principal of Baker Newman Noyes, succeeding founding member Eleanor Baker.



Denver R. Martin has been promoted to manager at Smith Elliott Kearns & Co. LLC, Hagerstown, while Benjamin S. Boyer and Kellie J. Reese have been promoted from senior associate to supervisor; and Ryan J. Grigg, Tyler T. Jaouni, Holly M. Myers and Evan M. Wabrick have been promoted from staff associate to senior associate.



David J. Nielsen and Zachary A. Skrzyniarz has been promoted to senior manager at Maner Costerisan, Lansing. ... Christine Porras, payroll manager at Yeo & Yeo CPAs & Business Consultants, Saginaw, has received the firm's Spirit of Yeo Award, which recognizes an individual who exemplifies the attributes of the firm's mission and core values.


John C. Csargo has been named a partner in Boyum & Barenscheer PLLP



Bill Kaiser has joined the St. Louis office of KPMG as an international tax partner. ... Brandi DiGiorgio and Sara Stubler have been promoted to partner at MarksNelson LLC, Kansas City. DiGiorgio joined the firm in 2004, and Stubler in 2009.



Kenny M. Smith has been named the U.S. leader of the financial services industry group of Deloitte. In addition, Bill Mullaney has joined the firm as a director with Deloitte Consulting LLP, Don Truslow as a senior advisor to Deloitte Advisory's regulatory and compliance practice, and Julie Bernard as a principal in Deloitte Advisory's cyber-risk services practice. ... Michael Garcia, Thea Kruger, Jon Scalzitti and Smit Shah have been named principals at Berdon LLP. ... Ronald L. Guzior has been appointed partner-in-charge of the Albany office of SaxBST. The firm also announced a number of new hires: James Cole and Dawn Doherty have rejoined the firm as partners in the Tax Department; while Donald Carobine has joined the firm as a senior manager, Amy Rich as an analyst, Jeremy DeBarr as an associate, Andy Matthews as a manager, and Megan Harnett as a bookkeeper.... Victor Wahba, CEO of WeiserMazars LLP, has been elected chairman of the firm, succeeding Douglas A. Phillips, who becomes a senior advisor to the firm. ... Renowned industry veteran Sidney Kess has been appointed a senior consultant at Citrin Cooperman, New York City, where he will work closely with the trust and estate practice. ... Fasika Sahlu and Samuel Wright have been promoted to managing director in the New York office of CBIZ MHM LLC. ... Blake D. Rubin and Andrea M. Whiteway have joined the Tax Partnership Transactional Planning & Economics Group of Ernst & Young LLP.



Logan Wang and Deborah Hanson have joined Schlabig & Associates Ltd., Akron, as a staff accountant and an administrative assistant, respectively. ... Rich Doolin has joined Skoda Minotti, Cleveland, as a senior staff accountant in the Tax Department. ... Laura A. King has been promoted to tax partner at Bruner Cox LLP, Akron and Canton. She joined the firm in 2003.



Adam R. Spitznagel has joined the Tax Advisory Services Practice of Schneider Downs, Pittsburgh, as a senior manager. ... Ruthann J. Woll has been promoted to principal in the Tax Services Group of Reinsel Kuntz Lesher LLP. In addition, Douglas L. Berman, managing partner of the firm's York office and leader of the Not-for-Profit Industry Group, has been named chair of the 2016-17 Board of Directors of the York County Economic Alliance. ... James Watson has been named managing principal of the Philadelphia office of CliftonLarsonAllen, while Victoria M. Raivitch has joined the office as a principal in the health care, not-for-profit and higher education practices.



Jessica Scouten and Samantha Boyd have become shareholders in KraftCPAs Turnaround & Restructuring Group PLLC, an affiliate of Nashville-based KraftCPAs PLLC.



Brentley A. Jackson has joined Rylander, Clay & Opitz LLP, Fort Worth, as a tax manager. ... Jeffrey K. Bergman has been admitted as a partner at Salmon Sims Thomas & Associates, Dallas. He joined the firm two years ago. ... Jason Graham has been named office managing director of the Houston office of Andersen Tax.



The trustees of the IFRS Foundation have reappointed three members to the International Financial Reporting Interpretations Committee: Tony de Bell, of PwC; Reinhard Dotzlaw, of KPMG; and Martin Schloemer, of Bayer AG.



Joe Huddleston, the former executive director of the Multistate Tax Commission and a current executive director in Ernst & Young's National Indirect Tax Group, received the 2015 Franklin C. Latcham Award for Distinguished Service in State and Local Taxation from Bloomberg BNA.



Jon Finkelstein has joined KPMG as a principal in the Washington National Tax Practice's Passthrough Group. ... Former IRS division counsel Linda Kroening has joined the Tax Policy & Controversy Group of Ernst & Young LLP as an executive director in the Washington office.

Send your personnel announcements to AcToday@SourceMedia.com.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access