A roundup of recent hires, promotions, awards and other personnel news from firms across the country.


Barfield, Murphy, Shank & Smith, Birmingham, announced a number of promotions: Ashley Caldwell and Mark Underhill were promoted to manager; Alison Montanaro, Graham Travers, John Haggard and Meredith Payne were promoted to supervisor; Dana Marshall, Hannah Avery, Jake Bechert and Robby Lilly were promoted to senior accountant; and Abigail Missildine and Auston Sullivan were promoted to staff accountant B.


Adam Gensler, Sophia Loh and Jason Stork have been admitted as partners at Frank, Rimerman + Co. LLP, San Jose.



Stephanie Parnell has been promoted to shareholder at Hanson & Co., Denver. She will continue to manage the firm’s Accounting Services Practice.


Michael Jordan has joined the New York Metro Commercial Practice of Andersen Tax as a managing



Howard Lucas, a partner at Goldstein Schechter Koch, Miami, has been elected president of the National Kidney Foundation of Florida. … Michael Mazzola and Julie Nemirovsky have joined the financial services practice of EisnerAmper LLP in the Miami office.



Barbara J. Evans has been named chair of the Georgia Society of CPAs’ Board of Directors for the 2016-17 fiscal year. … Draffin & Tucker LLP announced three new hires: Tyler Rose, Savannah Spraggins and Andrew Peterson have joined the firm as associate accountants in the healthcare practice.


Todd Briggs, director of financial services at RSM, has been named co-president of CAIA Chicago.


Josie Dillon has been promoted to manager in the Tax Services Department of Sponsel CPA Group, Indianapolis. … Angela Zirkelbach, a director at Blue & Co. LLC, Carmel, has been named to a two-year term on the Board of Directors of the Indiana CPA Society.



Marc Staut has joined Boomer Consulting Inc., Manhattan, as a principal and consultant. (See the story.



Carla J. Dowell has been admitted as a shareholder in Riney Hancock CPAs PSC, Owensboro. She was appointed director of audit and assurance services in 2015.



Mark Cissell, CEO and president of KatzAbosch, Baltimore, has been named one of Maryland’s 2016 Most Admired CEOs by The Daily Record. … Arthur F. Bell Jr. has assumed the newly created role of chairman at Arthur Bell, Baltimore, while member Corey A. McLaughlin has been elevated to the senior leadership role of managing member.



AAFCPAs announced a number of promotions: Amber Aubin, Daniel Cahill, Patrick Coakley, Nicholas Foresti, David Gravel, David Mercer, Sheng Wu and Maggie You have been promoted to supervisor; Sabrina Bleakney, Morgan Buckley, Ryan DeCinto, Taylor Ezold, CJ Gheringhelli, Tom Haggerty, Pauline Legor, Matthew Murphy, Leanne Precopio, Jared White and Elizabeth Wright to senior; and James Carlise, Grace Carter, Colleen Cavalier, Tiffany Coulam, Allison Cree, Anna Degtyareva, David Eidle, Jr, Allison Graham, Jennifer L'Heureux, Rachel McClain, Kasey Moran, Sandy Tarasiak and Cody Wopschall to semi-senior.



Pamela Aman and Greg Engelage have been promoted to partner at Sikich LLP. They will lead the St. Louis office’s audit, attest and consulting services. … Jen Vacha, a principal in the tax services practice of Brown Smith Wallace, St. Louis, has been elected to the Missouri Society of CPAs' Board of Directors.




Rotenberg Meril announced a number of promotions: Amy Gutkin has been promoted to audit manager; John Defeo to tax supervisor, Rocco Ignozza to audit senior, Andrew Jang to tax senior, Karen Cianci to senior consultant, and Giovanni Rivera, Hasnain Naveed, Anthony Amigon and Miles Siegel to audit semi-senior. … Financial Executives International, Morristown, announced the selection of three new members to the FEI Hall of Fame: James N. Clark, Carol Anthony (John) Davidson and Arnold C. Hanish. … Carleen J. Gaskin, Sheri Wronko and Michael D. Yarrow have been promoted partner at WithumSmith+Brown, Princeton.




Dennis Davis has been promoted to principal in the Albuquerque office of REDW LLC.


Robert Devine has joined Grassi & Co. as a partner in the consulting practice in the New York City office. … Wendy Valentino has been promoted to partner at Cohen Greve & Co. CPA PC, Mineola. She has been with the firm since 1996. … Friedman LLP announced a number of promotions in its New York, New Jersey and Pennsylvania offices: Corrie Cristaldi, Marie DeCicco, Robert Graham, Brian Kearns, Grace Mak and Noelene T. Sheridan have been promoted to principal, and Kate Bachety-Salatto, Lindsay Gaal and Marta Korcz-Janota to director.



James R. Matthews has been named a partner in McGregor & Co., Columbia. He started with the firm as an intern in 2003.


Jeff Waldeck has been promoted to senior manager in our tax practice of GBQ Partners LLC, Columbus.


Geffen Mesher, Portland, announced a number of promotions: In the Tax Department, Greg Malcolm and Salina Karia were promoted to senior manager; Katie Allan to manager; and Eric Gray, Nick Graham, Sarah Porter and Sayoko Inazuka to senior. In the Audit Department, Emily Bradford was promoted to senior manager; Alex Miller and Nick Balaity to manager; and Artem Travnikov, Beth Halderman, Dominic Ferrari and Marie Hall to senior.


Lisa Myers, a principal at Boyer & Ritter LLC, Camp Hill, was elected president of the Pennsylvania Institute of CPAs.



Daniel M. Andrea is joining KLR as an information security principal in the Audit Services Group.


Brian L. Johnson, co-founder and tax partner of SuggsJohnson CPAs, Anderson, has been appointed to the South Carolina Board of Accountancy. His term will run through June 30, 2019.



Weinstein Spira, Houston, admitted three new shareholders: Andy Dube and Taylor Neese in audit, and Kelly Murphy in tax. The firm also promoted three new managers: Rachel Corneilus and Karl Wolpert in tax, and David Olson in audit. … John Sharbaugh, executive director/CEO of the Texas Society of CPAs, has been named 2015-2016 honorary member of the accounting organization. The award recognizes a person who is not eligible for regular TSCPA membership, but has distinguished themselves within the accounting profession on a statewide basis. Sharbaugh has been with the society since 2000. … Kevin Endres has joined Rand Group, Houston as a vice president overseeing their Microsoft Dynamics AX practice.


Richard Thorpe has been appointed director for trustee activities at the IFRS Foundation. … Nick Talbot has been appointed CEO of the International Valuation Standards Council. He was previously interim CEO of the IVSC on a part-time basis from June 2015 to March 2016.


Linda S. Miller has joined Grant Thornton LLP, Alexandria as a director in its public sector fraud risk assessment practice..

Send your personnel announcements to AcToday@SourceMedia.com.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access