A roundup of recent hires, promotions, awards and other personnel news from firms across the country.


Deborah Kimes has joined CBIZ and Mayer Hoffman McCann PC as a business developer for the Phoenix office.



Don Dahl has joined Hall & Co. CPAs, Irvine, as a senior tax partner. … Kim Letch has been named managing partner of the Orange County office of Ernst & Young LLP, succeeding John Belli, who is retiring after 39 years with the firm. Letch will be responsible for all services and resources in the Orange County market. Letch has been with the firm for 24 years, and started her career with the EY member firm in Australia. She joined the Orange County practice in 2004.


Porter Keadle Moore, Atlanta, announced three promotions: In the Audit Department, Ryan Barrow will be promoted to senior manager and Andrew Belz to senior, and in the Systems Department, Roscoe Douglas will be promoted to senior. 


Jeffrey Kane has been named the national managing partner for private client services at BDO USA LLP. He previously served as the leader of BDO’s National Tax Office, and has more than 40 years of experience in the area. … Wendy Cama has been elected chair the Executive Committee of Crowe Horwath LLP, Chicago. Cama is an audit partner, and the the first woman to lead this group, of which she has been a member since 2013. … The Illinois CPA Society has named its two annual awards for outstanding leadership and emerging leadership in advancing diversity in honor of Lester H. McKeever, a prominent Chicago-area leader in the accounting profession and has been a pioneer in promoting diversity. A longtime partner in the local firm of Washington, Pittman and McKeever, McKeever has been a member of the society for over 50 years.


Nicole Cameron, an inpatient revenue coding consultant at Blue & Co. LLC, Carmel, received the 2016 Indiana Health Information Management Association Rising Star Award, while senior consultant Lynette Thom was elected by the IHIMA members to a two-year position as a delegate.


Jenny Herrera, a shareholder with Rubino & Co. Chartered, Bethesda, has been installed as the president of the Greater Washington Society of CPAs for fiscal year 2017. … Brett Friedman of DeLeon & Stang CPAs and Advisors has been elected to the Jewish Community Center of Greater Washington’s Board of Directors.



Moody, Famiglietti & Andronico LLP, Tewskbury, named four new partners: Susan Giroux, Matthew Glazier, Matthew Kalil and Stacie McDermott. In addition, the firm promoted the following: Charles Anganes, Ecaterina DeBoer, Pierrette Dingue, Tiara Duff; Greg Famiglietti, Kerry Hanafin, Thomas Komow; Kelsey Kozachuk, Dylan Maguire, Andre Mayer, Paul McDermott, Glen McElwee, Laura Riley, McKenzie Roane, Erin Tobin, Michael Sullivan, Michael Walsh and Michael Wegner. … Peter J. Catal has joined Reilly & Co., Milton, as a staff accountant and auditor … Former Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu global chairman John Connolly has been named chairman of the Board of Directors of Radius, Boston.


Peter Metz has joined Grassi & Co. as principal of family office services and tax, based out of the New York City office. … Kenneth Yormark has joined Grant Thornton LLP as a managing director in the firm’s forensic and valuation services practice, supporting the firm’s fraud investigation and dispute services in New York and New England. … Orlando Lopez and Chris Wardak have joined PwC, New York as principals. Orlando will help manage the firm’s financial crime portfolio, while Wardak will help expand the firm’s national SAP enterprise performance management capabilities. … The American Institute of CPAs announced that approximately 90 students have completed its 2016 Accounting Scholars Leadership Workshop. (See the story.) 



David C. Brinkman has joined Schneider Downs Wealth Management Advisors LP, Columbus, as an investment relationship manager.



David L. Maaskant has joined Smith Elliott Kearns & Co. LLC as a tax manager in the Carlisle office. … Fred Massanova, a partner at Baker Tilly Virchow Krause LLP, received the Michael A. DeAngelis Award from the La Salle University School of Business at its 50th Annual Accounting Awards Dinner. The award is presented annually to accounting alumni of La Salle University in recognition of significant professional achievement.



Celina Miller, an audit partner and partner-in-charge of the Public Sector Group of Whitley Penn, Houston, has earned the Advanced Single Audit Certificate from the AICPA, while Fort Worth tax manager Mark Selking has been named a Rising Star by the Texas Society of CPAs. … Sam Razmandi, a manager at Pannell Kerr Forster of Texas PC, Houston, has been appointed to the Board of Directors of the Houston Chapter of the American Marketing Association. … Lam Ha has rejoined MaloneBailey, Houston, as an audit manager.



James M. Shepherd, chair of Verus Financial Partners, Richmond, was named the 2016 Outstanding Member of the Year by the Virginia Society of CPAs. The society also named its Top 5 Under 35 Award: Melisa Galasso, an audit senior manager for Cherry Bekaert; Bo Garner, manager and co-leader of the Not-for-Profit Services Team at PBMares; Keith Gray, a tax consultant with Arlington Family Offices; Carolanne Petrusiak, a tax manager at PBMares; and Aditya Yerramilli, a forensic program manager for Google. It also gave 55 members its 2016 Life Member Award: Gene T. Allender, Roy F. Anderson, Paul A. Ballentine, O. Whitfield Broome, Frederick Brouillette, Bruce C. Carter, Joan D. Clarke, Steven L. Clemons, William G. Colby, Garry A. Collie, James A. Colley, Gary Cornwell, Norman C. Creech, David A. DeJesus, Patricia M. Devine, Robert D .Dorr, George R. Englert, CPA, Robert A. Foster, Gregory W. Geisert, William L. Gregg, George R. Hager, Denver F. Hicks, Peter C. Hill, John B. Hinds, Phillip S. Hodges, Carl E. Hollar, Richard B. Jolliffe, Bryan F. Jones, Robert H. Keiter, William N. Keyseear, Juanita B. Leatherberry, Lawrence J. Martin, Sharon C. McMichael, Ronald L. Mills, Paul J. Murman, David M. Murphy, James. R. O’Brien, Joel H. Pollard, C. Richard Powers, John J. Renner, George D. Scheulen, Robert A. Scott, William M. Shortridge, Alfred J. Shrieves, Edmond H. Smith, Susan H. Smith, Lee S. Trainum, R. Stephen Turnbull, Ralph F. Wackenhut, Jesse C. Wasserman, James A. Webster, C. Michael Wineholt, Paul D. Yates and David L. Zimmer. … Laura Sprouse and Tim George have joined the partnership at Brown Edwards, Roanoke.

Send your personnel announcements to AcToday@SourceMedia.com.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access