A roundup of recent hires, promotions, awards and other personnel news from firms across the country. 


Harvey Bookstein, a partner at Armanino LLP, San Ramon, has been named the 2016 honorary doctor of humane letters from California State University, Northridge.


Jeffrey Previdi has been named to the Governmental Accounting Standards Board, Norwalk. Previously, he served as a managing director at Standard & Poor’s Ratings Services. His term begins July 1, 2016, and will extend through June 30, 2021. He succeeds GASB member William Fish.



Shane Drake has been promoted to tax supervisor at Wiltshire, Whitley, Richardson & English PA, Fort Myers.


The CPA Endowment Fund of Illinois, the charitable partner of the Illinois CPA Society, announced the officers and directors of its 2016-2017 Board of Directors: Kenton Klaus, a partner in the Global Employer Services Practice of Deloitte Tax, will serve his second term as president, while Deborah Rood of CNA Insurance will serve as vice president, Kimberley Waite of Marcum LLP as secretary and Sara Mikuta of Wipfli LLP as treasurer. Serving as directors are: Maria Balita, Howard Blumstein, Le Monte Booker, Bruce Breitweiser, Lee Gould, William Graf, Brian Hunt, James Jones, Scott Lehman, Elizabeth Murphy, Jason Parish, Floyd Perkins, Daniel Rahill, Rachel Stushek and Connie Watkins. Serving as ex-officio directors are Edward Hannon and ICPAS president and CEO Todd Shapiro. … Gary Peric has been named firm leader for the state and local tax practice of Baker Tilly Virchow Krause LLP, Chicago.



Chelsea Carr has been promoted to manager of the R&D Tax Credit practice at McGuire Sponsel, Indianapolis, while Kara Showley has joined the firm as a project manager for the R&D Tax Credit practice.



Stephen G. Romig, an advisory director of the Tax Services Department for LaPorte CPAs & Business Advisors, Metairie, La., has been recognized by the American Institute of CPAs with its 2015 Public Service Award for Individuals, which honors an individual who has demonstrated outstanding public service activities. Romig is a weekly regular at the Harry Tompson Center in New Orleans, coordinating services for the homeless. He also does volunteer work at the Good Shepherd School in New Orleans, where he has tutored at-risk children and helped them with test preparation.


David Jean, director of Altus Exit Strategies, a subsidiary of Albin, Randall & Bennett CPAs, Portland, has earned the BEI Certified Exit Planner designation.



Michael Kipe, a manager in the Hagerstown office of Smith Elliott Kearns & Co. LLC, has received the 2016 Outstanding Alumnus Award from the Hagerstown Community College Alumni Association.


Partner Martin Olejnik has been named leader of the energy practice of Plante Moran, Southfield, while partner Eric Formberg of the Auburn Hills office has received the Michigan School Business Officials President’s Award. … Jim Paille, the director of compliance for Thomson Reuters myPay Solutions, Dexter, is the new president of the American Payroll Association. He will serve in the role until May 2017.



Katherine Watts has been named the first female chair of the board of Horne LLP, Ridgeland. She has been with the firm since 2004 and is currently the partner-in-charge of health care services.



Frederick Curry has been named Deloitte Advisory anti-money laundering and economic sanctions practice leader and Michael Shepard has been named Deloitte Global AML, economic sanctions and financial crimes leader, succeeding Alison Clew who will retire in May. They are all principals in Deloitte Transactions and Business Analytics LLP. Curry is based in Washington, D.C., and Shepard is based in Philadelphia. … Bert Orlov has joined the health care services practice of EisnerAmper LLP as a director. … Julie Vadnais has joined Grassi & Co. as chief administrative officer, based in the New York City office. … Jason Ackerman, of Wagner, Ferber, Fine & Ackerman PLLC, Floral Park, has received a 2015 Elijah Watt Sells Award for obtaining a cumulative average score above 95.50 across all four sections of the Uniform CPA Examination. Of the 93,742 individuals who sat for the examination in 2015, only 75 candidates met the criteria. … Stephanie L. Wilkinson of Lumsden & McCormick LLP, Buffalo, has earned the SHRM Certified Professional credential from the Society for Human Resource Management.


Boyer & Ritter LLC supervisor Jeremy Scheibelhut and director of marketing Fina Salvo have graduated from Leadership Harrisburg Area’s Community Leadership Series, a nine-month, 100+ hour educational and experiential course that explores way to better the quality of life in the Capital Region.


Erin Baker, data analytics program manager with the University of Texas System internal audit team, has received the 2016 U.S. IDEA User of Excellence Award from CaseWare Analytics and Audimation Services Inc. for effectively using CaseWare IDEA to help address data acquisition challenges; and provide training and share information across the entire organization. … Mike Simone has joined the Dallas office of Moss Adams LLP as a director of IT consulting.


Matthew Grossman has joined Cherry Bekaert LLP, Richmond, as director of finance and accounting, a new position at the firm.

Send your personnel announcements to AcToday@SourceMedia.com.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access