People News – Oct. 28, 2016

Register now

A roundup of recent hires, promotions, awards and other personnel news from firms across the country.


Joseph Rust, a partner at Prager Metis CPAs, LLC, has been named to Variety Magazine Business Managers Elite 2016, which profiles key business managers who work with high-profile show business creatives and executives. Rust works in the Advisory Services Department and serves as managing partner of the Los Angeles office.  



The American Institute of CPAs has given past chair Ernie Almonte, a partner at RSM US, received the 2016 Gold Medal Award for Distinguished Service from the American Institute of CPAs, its highest honor. Separately, Kimberly Ellison-Taylor, global accounting strategy director for Oracle America, was installed as chair of AICPA at its Fall Council meeting in Orlando. (See the story.) … Christopher Howell has been admitted as a shareholder at Thomas Howell Ferguson PA CPAs. He joined the firm 16 years ago, and currently serves as Tampa market leader.



Wesley P. Hudson and Catherine L. Bazley have joined the Real Estate & Construction Industry Group of Cherry Bekaert in Atlanta, as partners.



Jim Sikich, CEO and managing partner of Sikich LLP, Naperville, was named an Accounting Industry Legend by international firm association LEA Global. … Partners Lee Duran, William Eisig, Paul Heiselmann and Anthony Lawrence have been elected to three year terms on the board of directors of BDO USA LLP.


Jennifer Hasselgren, a staff tax accountant at Swartz Retson & Co. PC, Merrillville, has earned her CPA license.


Alyssa Kurtz Hemingway has joined Albin, Randall & Bennett, Portland, as a manager.


Elizabeth Gantnier, the Mid-Atlantic region professional practice partner at Dixon Hughes Goodman LLP, Baltimore, has been appointed to the American Institute of CPAs’ Peer Review Board for a 2016-2017 term.


Elysha Sturm has been promoted to senior accountant at Rodman CPAs. 



Jim Proppe has been elected the next managing partner of Plante Moran. (See the story.)



Jeanne M. Dee has joined Anders CPAs + Advisors, St. Louis, as a principal in the Audit and Advisory Services Group. … Tracy L. Hofer has joined KPM CPAs & Advisors, Springfield, as a senior accountant, and Julie A. Gratton as an administrative assistant. In addition, staff accountant Christine L. McIntire has earned her CPA license.



Ira L. Weiner has joined Steven Sewald & Co. CPAs, Morganville. He previously operated his own CPA practice in New Jersey and Brooklyn for over 25 years.



Renee A. Martinez has joined REDW LLC as an internal audit senior associate in the Albuquerque office on the audit and consulting team.


Andrew Miskin has been named the first chair of the Association of International Certified Professional Accountants. (See the story.) … James Wienclaw has joined the Manufacturing & Distribution Group of WeiserMazars LLP as a partner. He will be based out of the Long Island office. … Joanne S. Barry, executive director and CEO of the New York State Society of CPAs, has been appointed the 2016-2017 president of the CPA Society Executives Association. … Grassi & Co. announced a number of new hires in its Jericho office: Patrick Fahey has joined the firm as an audit partner, Ronald Burton as a tax principal, and Jeff Agranoff as the chief HR officer and HR consulting principal. … Charles Schneider has joined EisnerAmper LLP, New York, as an international tax partner. … Michael Angerhauser has joined Berdon LLP, New York, as a principal in the Litigation, Valuation & Dispute Resolution Group.



William Neil Langlois and Benton Collins have been promoted to senior associate at Kernutt Stokes.


Brittany Wood has joined Brown Schultz Sheridan & Fritz, Camp Hill, as a tax staff accountant, and Tyler Lucchese as an audit staff accountant in September. … Christopher M. Turtell has been promoted to partner at Herbein + Co. Inc.


Ethan Boothe has joined EisnerAmper as principal-in-charge of the Texas Region. He will be based in Dallas as a member of the Financial Services Practice.



Alex Walther, a senior manager at Baker Tilley Virchow Krause LLP, and Matthew O’Leary, a senior consultant, each received a Standing Ovation Award the American Institute of CPAs for professional achievement in the field of forensic accounting and business valuation. In addition, senior manager Colleen Wevodau and manager Colleen Lewis were named Women to Watch by the AICPA and the Greater Washington Society of CPAs; Wevodau was named a Community Leader, and Lewis a Future Community Leader. … Annette Nellen, a professor at San José State University and director of its graduate tax program, has been named chair of the Tax Executive Committee of the AICPA. … Brian P. Anderson has been named to the Center for Audit Quality’s Governing Board. Anderson fills the seat vacated by Michele J. Hooper, President and CEO of The Directors’ Council.

Send your personnel announcements to

For reprint and licensing requests for this article, click here.