J. Clarke Price, CAE, president and CEO of the Ohio Society of CPAs, was honored with its Gold Medal for Meritorious Service to the Accounting Profession, at the society's Members Summit & Annual Meeting on June 19, in Columbus.

Price is only the second non-CPA to receive the medal, which is the society's highest award.

"I am honored to be selected and particularly to be included among past recipients like those who have been instrumental in advancing our profession over the years," said Price.

"Clarke's commitment to both looking out for the interests of CPAs and growing the society have gained OSCPA respect among business leaders, legislators and other associations," said immediate past chair James Gottfried, CPA.

Price will retire at the end of 2012 after 40 years with the society. During his 22 years as president and CEO, he has led several high-profile legislative initiatives, and has been a frequent member of Accounting Today's Top 100 Most Influential People in Accounting list.

At the same event, the society also gave out three other awards:

• Eileen Sass, CPA, a sole practitioner in Akron and 19-year OSCPA member, received the 2012 Outstanding Member Volunteer Award for her support of the society's education programs.

• E. Ann Gabriel, CPA, CGMA, Ph.D, an associate professor of accountancy from Ohio University, received the Ohio Outstanding Educator Award.

• Claudia Lubaski, CPA, CMA, CFE, an assistant professor of accounting at Lorain County Community College, was the first recipient of the Outstanding Ohio Two-Year Accounting Educator Award.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access