Five accounting majors aspiring to become CPAs have been named the recipients of the 2010-2011 AICPA/Accountemps Student Scholarship. These students have demonstrated academic excellence and exceptional leadership.

The 2010-2011 AICPA/Accountemps Student Scholarship recipients are:

Heather Bergman, Master of Accounting

University of Montana, Missoula

Jennifer Brown, Bachelor of Business Administration in Accounting
University of Portland

Melissa Cheesman, Master of Public Accounting
Seattle University

Tyson Miller, Bachelor of Business Administration/Master of Accountancy
University of Oklahoma

Lydia Virino, Master of Accounting
North Carolina State University

Each student will receive $2,500 for the academic year. They were chosen from more than 340 applicants, all who must have maintained a minimum GPA of 3.0 and completed at least 30 semester hours in college-level coursework, including six semester hours in accounting.

“We want to congratulate all of the award winners for their outstanding academic achievement,” said Jeannie Patton, AICPA Vice President - Students, Academics & Membership. “They illustrate the exceptional pipeline of talent for our profession.”

A task force comprised of AICPA and Accountemps representatives chose the recipients based on their applications, performance, essays and letters of recommendation.

“We are proud to partner with the AICPA to honor Heather, Jennifer, Melissa, Tyson and Lydia,” said Andrew Denka, Executive Director of Accountemps. “Each of them has demonstrated a commitment to excellence in their education and preparation for their careers.”

The application deadline for the 2011-2012 AICPA/Accountemps Student Scholarship program is April 1, 2011.  For more information, about this and other scholarship programs offered to accounting students, visit