The American Institute of CPAs announced their 2014 Leadership Academy class selection of 38 rising stars in the profession to participate in the 6th annual Leadership Academy in Durham, N.C, this fall.

Over the program’s five days, participants will learn strategic planning techniques and personal success skills, as well as discuss pressing issues of the accounting profession with leaders including AICPA chairman Bill Balhoff and president and CEO Barry Melancon.

“The AICPA’s Leadership Academy annually selects promising young CPAs and gives them the tools they need to continue to make an impact in the accounting profession,” stated Balhoff. “As these CPAs continue to develop their careers, both the connections they make and the training they receive at the Leadership Academy will help guide them along the way.”

The AICPA selected the 38 attendees, all under the age of 36, from 100 candidates recommended by their employers, state CPA societies, or both and based on resumes of work history, licensure information, professional volunteer activities, community service, and awards and honors.

Held from Sept. 28-Oct. 2 at the Washington Duke Inn, more information on the Leadership Academy can be found at

The 2014 Leadership Academy class, in alphabetical order:

  • David Almonte, LGC&D, Providence, RI
  • Bryan Carpenter, LevitZacks, San Diego, CA
  • Jessica Cormier, Horne LLP, Baton Rouge, LA
  • Roseleen Dello Russo, Rucci, Bardaro & Falzone PC, Malden, MA
  • Kenneth DeSouza, Ernst & Young, Nashville, TN
  • Marisa Doras, Department of Education, St. Thomas, VI
  • Julian Dozier, Thomas Howell Ferguson, PA, Tallahassee, FL
  • Lacy Ferguson, Sound Transit, Seattle, WA
  • Robyn Fuller, General Motors Finance, Detroit, MI
  • Melisa Galasso, Cherry Bekaert LLP, Charlotte, NC
  • John Gleason, Grant Thornton LLP, Boston, MA
  • Hillary Harding, Excelsior College, Albany, NY
  • Alexis Hassell, PricewaterhouseCoopers, New York, NY
  • Kristin Howard, Palazzo & Company LLC, Biloxi, MS
  • Michelle Kaneshiro, MW Group, Ltd., Honolulu, HI
  • Douglas Kauffman, Douglas C Kauffman, CPA, Lancaster, PA
  • Stephen Kimberlin, Meadows Urquhart Acree & Cook, LLP, Richmond, VA
  • Kevin Koven, L.M. Henderson & Company, LLP, Indianapolis, IN
  • Brian Loose, Diel & Forguson, LLC, O’Fallon, IL
  • Patrick Lytle, SM Energy Company, Denver, CO
  • Robert Maya, Kaufman Rossin, Co., Miami, FL
  • Katherine McNair, O’Connor Davies, LLP, Wethersfield, CT
  • Eboni Moss, Berkowitz Pollack Brant, Miami, FL
  • Jenny Ng, Gray, Blodgett & Company, Norman, OK
  • Stephanie Pickering, McGee, Hearne & Paiz, LLP, Cheyenne, WY
  • James Pierce, Frost, PLLC, Fayetteville, AR
  • Aaron Saito, Intel Corporation, Hillsboro, OR
  • Katherine Sedgwick, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas, Dallas, TX
  • David Shibli, KPMG, George Town, Grand Cayman
  • William Titera, Apollo Global Inc., Phoenix, AZ
  • Christopher Tkach, RubinBrown, St. Louis, MO
  • Melanie Tuttle, Tuttle & McCullough, PA, Lenexa, KS
  • Alison VanOtterloo, Pharmacists Mutual Insurance Company, Algona, IA
  • Kelly Ward, Robinson & Associates, PC, Fairbanks, AK
  • Ryan Warren, BerryDunn, Manchester, NH
  • Andrew Welfle, Payne Nickles & Company, Norwalk, OH
  • Christopher Wittich, Boyum & Barenscheer, PLLP, Minneapolis, MN
  • Jamie Wohlert, Navigant Consulting, Arlington, VA