The American Institute of CPAs announced the ten recipients of the 2013-14 John L. Carey Scholarship, a one-year $5,000 award bestowed to students from liberal arts and other non-traditional business backgrounds who are pursuing graduate accounting degrees and future CPA licensure.

The 2013-14 recipients are:

•    Heather Creech, UNC Chapel Hill
•    Brian Doud, Wake Forest University
•    Daniel Hirsty, University of Texas - Austin
•    Betsy Jacobson, Northeastern University
•    Angela Janda, University of New Mexico
•    Michael Lauridsen, DePaul University
•    Josh Lewer, Georgia Regents University
•    Shane Maldonado, Mills College
•    Nicole Wolfe, University of Southern California
•    Jessica Woo, University of Southern California

The scholarships cover tuition and educational expenses, with funding provided by an endowment of the AICPA Foundation in honor of John L. Carey, who encouraged students of all backgrounds to become CPAs and previously served as AICPA as administrative vice president, executive director and editor and publisher of the Journal of Accountancy.

“The AICPA understands that one of the things that makes the accounting profession a popular choice among students is the multitude of career options it affords,” said AICPA Foundation president and former AICPA chairman Randy Fletchall in a statement. “These students’ backgrounds in liberal arts and other non-financial areas will give them a unique perspective that will serve them well throughout their careers as CPAs.”

Recipients of the scholarship must be full-time graduate-level students for the upcoming academic year, and were selected by a task force evaluating applications, academic transcripts, recommendation letters and personal essays to determine academic achievement, leadership and commitment to pursuing a CPA license.

The ten recipients will become part of the AICPA Legacy Scholars program, established in 2011 to award recipients with a one-year scholarship and offer continued benefits through the AICPA Legacy Scholars Alumni.

The application deadline for the 2014-15 AICPA John L. Carey Scholarship program is April 1, 2014. More information about this and other AICPA scholarship programs is available at