The AICPA announced on Wednesday that 15 students transitioning from community colleges to four-year universities have been granted the AICPA Foundation Two Year Transfer Scholarship award. Part of the AICPA’s Legacy Scholars program, the award rewards students attending two-year colleges with a declared intent to major in accounting at a four-year college or university.

Each student will receive $3,000 towards their tuition for the 2015-2016 school year, provided by the AICPA Foundation.

“We’ve noticed an increased trend of students from two-year schools transferring to four-year colleges and universities as they work towards entering the accounting profession. The AICPA Foundation Two Year Transfer Scholarship recognizes these exceptional students for their achievement,” said Joanne Fiore, AICPA vice president of professional media, pathways and inclusion, in a statement. “The AICPA is committed to building the CPA pipeline by drawing from a pool of the best and brightest from diverse paths to the profession. These students’ inclusion in the AICPA Legacy Scholars program will provide them with helpful guidance and resources as they work towards earning their CPA license.”

The 2015-2016 AICPA Foundation Two-Year Transfer Scholarship award recipients are (in alphabetical order):

  • Naira Aliyeva - Florida Atlantic University
  • Sarah Bergsman - Portland State University
  • Leah Brantley - Northeastern University
  • Gabriel Cerbana, Seattle University
  • Edgar Delgadillo-Plasencia - Oklahoma State University
  • Anh Dinh - California State University, Long Beach
  • Sandra Gaviria - University of Massachusets Boston
  • Taylor Hildebrand - Temple University
  • Anastasia Maksimova - University of Missouri, Kansas City
  • Trevor Pettway - University of Oklahoma
  • Bradlee Rogers - Radford University
  • Mark Stratton - Arizona State University
  • Lauren Theobald - Middle Tennessee State University
  • Pernell Wise - North Carolina Central University
  • Stephen Wong - University of Southern California

The scholarship award winners were chosen from more than 700 AICPA Legacy Scholarship applicants.  Eligible applicants must have a minimum GPA of 3.0 and completed at least 30 semester hours in college-level coursework, including six semester hours in accounting.
The Two Year Transfer Scholarship award is one of four scholarship awards available through the AICPA Legacy Scholars program. The Scholars program was created in 2011 and awards recipients a one-year AICPA scholarship while helping to develop the necessary soft skills for a successful career. Scholarship recipients also perform eight hours of service each semester advocating the accounting profession on campus.

AICPA Legacy Scholars are Student Affiliate Members of the AICPA - a free membership option available to college students. Each AICPA Legacy Scholar is given access to a coach to provide mentoring on the student’s service events and guidance on questions related to the profession.

The application deadline for the 2016-17 AICPA Legacy Scholarship is April 1, 2016. For more information, head to the AICPA Legacy Scholars Program site here