Illinois CPA Society and CPA Endowment Fund of Illinois announce 2016-17 scholarship recipients

Register now

The Illinois CPA Society (ICPAS) and the CPA Endowment Fund of Illinois recently announced the recipients of their yearly academic scholarships for accounting students across the state. Students earning scholarships are set to complete their accounting studies and pursue the CPA licensure.

Each year, the Illinois Society and the CPA Endowment Fund provide approximately $185,000 in financial aid to qualifying students studying to become CPAS. The ICPAS scholarship program is funded by contributions from the CPA Endowment Fund of Illinois and aid in expenses ranging from tuition, to textbooks and CPA Exam fees.

“It was another great year for our scholarship program, and on behalf of the Illinois CPA Society, I am proud to honor these impressive students,” said Todd Shapiro, president and CEO of the ICPAS, in a statement. “As leaders on campus and in their communities, these students have a great potential for success in the accounting profession. We are truly grateful to the many donors who make it possible for us to recognize their achievements.”  

The 2016-2017 ICPAS scholarship recipients, in alphabetical order, are as follows:

  • Babatunde Adediran (DePaul University)
  • Eric Barnes (DePaul University)
  • LeRone Branch (Dominican University)
  • Susan Chun (DePaul University)          
  • Greta Ciuksyte (Benedictine University)               
  • Kaitlin Ehlers (University of Illinois)
  • Ashley Epping (Bradley University)                      
  • Amy Farley (Governors State University)
  • Thomas Fisher (Northern Illinois University)
  • Vincent Greco (Illinois State University)
  • Samantha Humphrey (Southern Illinois University)
  • Danny Li (Southern Illinois University)
  • Yuchu Lo (DePaul University)
  • Andrew Lopez (Northern Illinois University)
  • Anthony Maggitt (Northern Illinois University)
  • Daniel Manrique (DePaul University)
  • Michael Moskos (DePaul University)
  • Cassidy Neal (Southern Illinois University)
  • Paola Negrete (Benedictine University)
  • Sheila Nevarez (Robert Morris University)
  • Donna Nguyen (Northern Illinois University)
  • Jacob Nowotarski (Elmhurst College)
  • Connor Obermeier (Southern Illinois University)
  • Nayely Ortiz (DePaul University)
  • Shirley Paredes (University of Illinois at Chicago)
  • Janice Sova (Southern Illinois University)
  • Cortesha Spencer (McKendree University)
  • Kathryn Swerdlick (College of DuPage)
  • Steven Ta Southern (Illinois University)
  • Erick Tapia (Aurora University)
  • Krishna Thaker (University of Illinois)
  • Sharon Tucker (Northern Illinois University)
  • Thanh Vo (University of Illinois at Chicago)
  • Yvette Zavala (Robert Morris University)

For more information on the CPA Endowment Fund of Illinois and the ICPAS, head to the Society's site here.

For reprint and licensing requests for this article, click here.