The Public Company Accounting Oversight Board recently announced the colleges and universities participating in the PCAOB Scholarship Program this upcoming 2012-23 academic year.

In its second year of granting scholarships, the PCAOB plans to award 43 merit-based scholarships of $10,000 each to students.

"I am pleased that this scholarship program allows the PCAOB and the academic community to work together to encourage the best and the brightest students to choose auditing as a career path," said PCAOB Chairman James R. Doty in a statement.

The PCAOB Scholarship Program was created in the wake of 2002’s Sarbanes-Oxley Act, which provides that funds generated from the collection of monetary penalties imposed by the PCAOB be used to fund a merit-based scholarship program for students in accredited accounting degree programs.

Eligible students must be enrolled in a bachelor’s or master’s  accounting degree program at an accredited participating, nominating institution; not be a PCAOB employee or a child or spouse of a PCAOB employee; and demonstrate interest and aptitude in accounting and auditing, as well as high ethical standards.  

The PCAOB stressed that educational institutions have been encouraged to give consideration to students from populations that have been historically underrepresented in the accounting profession.

More information on the scholarship program, nomination process and nominating institutions is available on the PCAOB website.  

The 2012-23 academic year scholarship recipient academic institutions:

1.         Arizona State University

2.         Auburn University

3.         Bentley University

4.         Bowling Green State University

5.         Colorado Technical University

6.         DeVry University - Midtown Manhattan

7.         Fairleigh Dickinson University-Fordham

8.         Florida International University

9.         Gonzaga University

10.       Grand Valley State University

11.       Illinois State University

12.       James Madison University

13.       McNeese State University

14.       Miami University-Oxford

15.       Northeastern University

16.       Ohio State University

17.       Rider University

18.       Rutgers University-Newark

19.       Saint John's University

20.       Saint Leo University

21.       San Diego State University

22.       Southern Methodist University

23.       SUNY at Albany

24.       Texas A and M University

25.       Universidad Metropolitana

26.       University of Houston

27.       University of Kansas

28.       University of Massachusetts-Amherst

29.       University of Minnesota-Duluth

30.       University of Missouri-Kansas City

31.       University of Nebraska-Lincoln

32.       University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill

33.       University of Phoenix

34.       University of South Florida

35.       University of Southern Indiana

36.       University of Tennessee-Knoxville

37.       University of Toledo

38.       University of Washington

39.       University of Wisconsin-Superior

40.       University of Wisconsin-Whitewater

41.       Villanova University

42.       Wake Forest University

43.       Winona State University