Virginia Society of CPAs Educational Foundation announces 2016-17 scholarship recipients

The Virginia Society of Certified Public Accountants (VSCPA) Educational Foundation recently announced its college scholarship recipients for the 2016–2017 academic year. The Educational Foundation represents a nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting accounting education and encouraging students to pursue careers as CPAs.

This year, the Foundation awarded $50,250 between undergraduate, graduate and doctoral scholarships to 25 accounting students across the state of Virginia.

Scholarship applicants must be currently enrolled or accepted in an accounting program at a Virginia college or University, complete an entry essay, have faculty recommendations, and be in good academic standing.

The 2016–2017 scholarship recipients are as follows:

VSCPA Minority Scholarship ($1,000)

  • Mari Baz (George Mason University)
  • Grishma KC (George Mason University) 
  • Tracey Le (George Mason University)

VSCPA Undergraduate Scholarship ($1,000)

  • Selma Avdic (University of Richmond)
  • Courtney Donovan (College of William & Mary)
  • Brooke Miller (Averett University)
  • Jessica Miller (George Mason University)
  • Emma Robinson (College of William & Mary)

VSCPA Graduate Scholarship ($1,000)

  • Jack Melhorn (University of Virginia)

VSCPA Ph.D. Scholarship ($5,000)

  • Edward Lynch (Virginia Commonwealth University)

VSCPA Past Presidents/Chair Scholarship ($1,000)

  • Katherine McVey (College of William & Mary)

Thomas M. Berry Jr. Scholarship ($2,500)

  • Caitlin Bare (College of William & Mary)

Virginia Tech Doctoral Scholarship ($2,500)

  • Trent Henk (Virginia Tech)

CST Group Scholarship ($2,500)

  • Illiana Montoya (George Mason University)

Dixon Hughes Goodman Scholarship ($2,000)

  • Madeline Cutler (Washington and Lee University)
  • Maddie Sanford (College of William & Mary)

H. Burton Bates Jr. Scholarship ($2,000)

  • Bradlee Rogers (Radford University)

Kearney & Company Scholarship ($2,500)

  • Ameera Choudhury (George Mason University)
  • Joseph Mills (Virginia Tech)

Michael E. Mares Scholarship ($3,500)

  • Sayed Akbari (Virginia Commonwealth University)

MJW Scholarship ($3,500)

  • Ryan Vosburgh (University of Virginia)

Verus Financial Partners Scholarship ($2,500)

  • Miranda Melton (Lynchburg College)

Wall, Einhorn & Chernitzer Scholarship ($2,250)

  • Christopher Davenport (Old Dominion University)

Yount, Hyde & Barbour Scholarship ($2,500)

  • Jason Jones (University of Virginia)

For more on the VSCPA Educational Foundation, head to the Society's site here.

For reprint and licensing requests for this article, click here.