AICPA announces 2017-18 Accountemps Scholarship winners

Register now

The AICPA announced on Thursday the recipients of the 2017-2018 Accountemps Scholarship Award, given to four college accounting students who show "potential to become leaders in the CPA profession," according to the Institute.

Each student, chosen from over 600 undergrad and graduate students across the country, will receive $10,000 towards the 2017-18 academic year. To be considered for the award, applicants must have a minimum GPA of 3.0 with at least 30 semester hours in college-level coursework, with six in accounting. This year's winners were chosen by a task force made up of AICPA Student Recruitment Committee members, Accountemps staff, and CPA volunteers.

“Each of these students exhibit leadership skills that will help them excel as they enter the accounting profession,” stated Joanne Fiore, AICPA vice president of professional media, pathways and inclusion. “The AICPA is pleased to provide these talented and motivated students with guidance and financial assistance as they work to complete their education and earn their CPA license.”

The four winners of the 2017-2018 AICPA/Accountemps Scholarship Award are as follows:

  • Alexander Balkan - University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Aileen Duong - Gonzaga University
  • Adam Kershner - Babson College
  • Stormm Phillips - Jacksonville University

The Accountemps Scholarship Award is part of the AICPA Legacy Scholars Program, which has awarded over $630,000 to 123 accounting students this year alone.

For more on the Accountemps Scholarship Award and the Legacy Scholars Program, head to ThisWaytoCPA site here.

For reprint and licensing requests for this article, click here.
Accounting students Accounting education AICPA