The American Institute of CPAs announced on Wednesday the 58 winners of the 2017 Elijah Watt Sells Award.

The award recognizes those who scored a cumulative average score above 95.50 across all four sections of the CPA Examination, passing all four sections on their first sitting, and completed all their testing in 2017.

The 58 individuals receiving the Elijah Watt Sells Award were honored from the pool of 95,858 individuals who sat for the Exam in 2017.

“The CPA Exam protects the public interest by ensuring, along with education and experience requirements, that only qualified individuals are able to become licensed as Certified Public Accountants,” said Mike Decker, Association of International Certified Professional Accountants vice president of examinations, in a statement. “Passing the Exam is a career milestone. And the extraordinary performance of this year’s Sells Award winners is truly an impressive accomplishment.”

Founded in 1923, the Elijah Watt Sells Award program annually recognizes those with top CPA Exam scores. Sells was one of the first CPAs in the U.S., and was also key to the founding of the AICPA as well as education programs within the profession.

AICPA building in Durham, N.C.
AICPA building in Durham, N.C. Photo: AICPA

For the complete list of 2017 winners, head to the AICPA's site here.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access