AICPA recognizes innovative accounting educators

Register now

The American Institute of CPAs has recognized nine accounting educators with its 2019 Effective Learning Strategies Awards.

Co-sponsored by Grant Thornton and the Federation of Schools of Accountancy, the Effective Learning Strategies Awards are given annually to collegiate educators who have developed innovative teaching tools across introductory, upper division and graduate-level courses.

Award recipients are determined by the AICPA Academic Executive Committee’s Teaching Innovation Task Force, based on presentations made during the American Accounting Association’s Annual Meeting, which was held in August 2019 in San Francisco.

“Accounting educators play a large role in influencing and preparing the future accounting professionals,” Greg Gaynor, Effective Learning Strategies Educator Awards program chair and professor at California State University-Long Beach, said in a statement. “This year’s winners are being honored for developing outstanding curricula that improves student learning outcomes and increases their engagement in the classroom. They are truly academic stewards to the accounting profession.”

“The accounting profession continues to evolve, particularly as new technology enhances the way many organizations operate,” said Yvonne Hinson, academic in residence at the Association of International Certified Professional Accountants, in a statement. “These educators are leading the charge to find creative solutions to inspire students and cultivate the skills the next generation of CPAs will need.”

Recipients of the 2019 Effective Learning Strategies Awards, and honorable mentions, include:

Bea Sanders/AICPA 2019 Teaching Innovation Award:

  • Winner: “Junkyard Planet: Teaching Managerial Accounting with a Sustainability Theme,” Stephanie Grimm, University of St. Thomas.
  • Honorable Mention: “Data Analytics Projects for Introductory Accounting Using Excel, Tableau, and Power BI,” Wendy Tietz, Kent State University; Tracie Miller Nobles, Austin Community College; and Jennifer Cainas, University of South Florida.

George Krull/Grant Thornton 2019 Teaching Innovation Award:

  • Winner: “Blockchain: Bridging the Profession-Education Gap with Instructional Scaffolding,” Ethan Kinory, Rutgers Camden, State University of New Jersey; Kimberly Church, University of Missouri-Kansas City; and Sean Stein Smith, Lehman College.

Mark Chain/FSA 2019 Teaching Innovation Award:

  • Winner: “Integration in Accounting Curriculum: Leading by Example,” Mahendra Gujarathi, Bentley University.
  • Honorable Mention: “Benchmark Ratio Analysis Using One’s Own College: A Service-Learning Project For The Governmental and Not-For-Profit Accounting Course,” Mary Michel, Manhattan College.

Materials from these submissions will be posted to the AICPA Accounting Professors’ Curriculum Tool. For more on the Effective Learning Strategies Awards, head to ThisWaytoCPA's site here.

For reprint and licensing requests for this article, click here.
Accounting education AICPA