AICPA names 2019 high school scholarship recipients

Register now

The American Institute of CPAs announced that 20 students have received its second annual AICPA Foundation High School Scholarship, awarded to incoming college freshmen pursuing accounting degrees.

Each student is awarded $2,000 for the 2018-2019 academic year. Awards are funded by the AICPA Foundation.

Eligible students must have completed the AICPA’s Accounting Program for Building the Profession: Advanced High School Accounting course, which sees high school educators teach a more advanced, real-world accounting curriculum at the high school level. The program has trained over 1,300 teachers in 42 states.

High school scholarship recipients must also provide proof of full-time enrollment to a two- or four-year accredited college or university, as well as maintain a GPA of at least 3.0. Educators, counselors or current AICPA members can nominate students for the high school scholarship.

“The AICPA is always exploring new ways to draw talented and motivated students into the accounting profession," stated Dr. Yvonne Hinson, CGMA Association of International Certified Professional Accountant’s academic in residence. “This scholarship rewards students who have demonstrated promise by completing the APBP course and are on their way to majoring in accounting. These students are examples of how the course serves as a bridge between studying accounting in high school and pursing an accounting degree in college.”

This year’s scholarship recipients are listed below, along with the high school where they completed the Advanced High School Accounting course and the college they are attending:

  • Riley Adams - V. R. Eaton High School, Oklahoma State University
  • Richard Coleman - Milton Hershey School, Arizona State University
  • Melanie Conroy - Newfield High School, University at Buffalo
  • Katelyn Daniluk - Midlothian High School, University of Virginia
  • Darius Goodwin - Robert S. Rogers High School, University of Toledo
  • Terisha Grant - Farragut High School, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
  • Christian Hansen - Blue Valley High School, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
  • Trenton Koontz - West Albany High School, Oregon State University
  • Michael Kovar - Manhattan High School, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Nick Marsh - Warsaw Community High School, Indiana University
  • Natalie McBride - Mohawk Jr./Sr. High School, Washington and Jefferson College
  • R. Hans Meganck - Waunakee High School, University of Wisconsin
  • Juddson Miller - Malakoff High School, Trinity Valley Community College
  • Lindsey Parrett - Central Hardin High School, Eastern Kentucky University
  • Kannon Phipps - Manhattan High School, Oklahoma State University
  • Madison Prince - Farragut High School, University of Oklahoma
  • Kelsey Roe - Hayfield High School, Buena Vista University
  • Kendall Smith - Manhattan High School, Kansas State University
  • Michael Treadwell - Waunakee Community High School, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Thomas Zezyus - Kiski Area High School, University of Pittsburgh at Greensburg

For more on the scholarship, head to the AICPA's site here.

For reprint and licensing requests for this article, click here.
Accounting students Accounting education AICPA