Deborah Walker
Deborah Walker

The American Institute of CPAs announced on Wednesday that Deborah Walker, national director of compensation and benefits at Top 100 Firm Cherry Bekaert, has been awarded the 2017 Arthur J. Dixon Memorial Award. The award was presented at the AICPA's Fall Tax Division Meeting in Washington, D.C. by Lisa Germano, president and general counsel of Actuarial Benefits & Design Company.

Established in 1981, the annual award honors Arthur J. Dixon, chairman of the AICPA's Tax Executive Committee from 1977 to 1980. Dixon was notable for his contributions to both the profession and the Institute's Tax Division, with the award honoring similarly accomplished CPAs in the taxation field.

Walker, with over 35 years of experience and currently working out of Cherry Bekaert's Washington, D.C. office, also edits for Bloomberg BNA, with a concentration on Compensation Planning Tax Management Portfolios. She previously served as a partner in the Washington National Tax Practices at KPMG and Deloitte Tax and as Deputy to the Benefits Tax Counsel in the Office of Tax Policy at the U.S. Department of the Treasury.

Walker’s service to the AICPA spans 30 years. Currently, she serves on the planning committee for the AICPA Employee Benefit Plan Conference, where she has previously served as chair and co-chair, the AICPA Employee Benefits Tax Technical Resource Panel, and the AICPA Health Care Task Force. Walker also served as a member of the AICPA Governing Council and as chair of the AICPA Tax Executive Committee.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access