Victims of recent storms in Mississippi have until May 16 to file returns and pay any taxes due, the IRS said.

All workers assisting the relief who are affiliated with a recognized government or philanthropic organization also qualify for relief.

Following the recent disaster declaration for individual assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency, the IRS said that affected taxpayers in Benton, Coahoma, Marshall, Quitman and Tippah Counties will receive this and other special tax relief. Other locations in Mississippi and other states may be added in coming days based on FEMA’s damage assessments.

The relief postpones various filing and payment deadlines that occurred starting on Dec. 23, 2016. Affected individuals and businesses have until May 16, 2016, to file and pay any taxes due; this includes 2015 income tax returns normally due on April 18 and the January 15, and April 18 deadlines for quarterly estimated tax payments.

Various business tax deadlines are also affected, including the February 1 and May 2 deadlines for quarterly payroll and excise tax returns and the special March 1 deadline for farmers and fishermen who choose to forgo making estimated tax payments.

The IRS is also waiving late-deposit penalties for federal payroll and excise tax deposits normally due on or after December 23 and before January 7 if the deposits were made by January 7.

Details on available relief can be found on the disaster relief page on

The IRS automatically provides filing and penalty relief to any taxpayer with an IRS address of record in the disaster area; taxpayers need not contact the IRS to get this relief. If an affected taxpayer does receive a late-filing or late-payment penalty notice from the IRS that has an original or extended filing, payment or deposit due date falling within the postponement period, the taxpayer should call the number on the notice.    

The IRS will also work with taxpayers who live outside the disaster area but whose records necessary to meet a deadline occurring during the postponement period are located in the affected area. Taxpayers qualifying for relief who live outside the disaster area need to contact the IRS at (866) 562-5227.

Individuals and businesses that suffered uninsured or unreimbursed disaster-related losses can choose to claim them on either the return for the year the loss occurred, or the return for the prior year. See Publication 547 for details.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access