The House Judiciary Committee has approved legislation by a wide margin that would prohibit states from taxing Internet access.

The committee approved H.R. 3086, the Permanent Internet Tax Freedom Act, by a vote of 30 to 4 on Wednesday. The bipartisan bill has more than 220 cosponsors. The legislation would make permanent the provisions of the Internet Tax Freedom Act, which temporarily bans states from taxing Internet access or placing multiple or discriminatory taxes on e-commerce. Most states currently do not tax Internet access, although several do, including Ohio and Texas, which were grandfathered under the original legislation. The new bill would remove that exemption.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access