Houston CPA Society Honors Leaders and Volunteers

The Houston CPA Society thanked its volunteers and leaders for their service through the 2012-2013 fiscal year during its annual awards banquet.

The banquet, which was held May 30 at the Braeburn Country Club in Houston, also honored 40-year members John T. Bonno, Russell L. Chaddick, Charles C. Cummings, Jay A. Epstein, James C. Frazier, Mac L. Jones, Russell E. Kibbee, III, Gerald A. Langer, Elizabeth M. Pozzi, Ray G Rosenbaum, and Donald L. Stone, Jr.

This year’s Presidential Citation was presented to Reed G. Wood for his leadership role in establishing the Houston CPA Society’s Accounting Scholarship Endowment, which has raised over $500,000 in its inaugural year.

Much of the evening was dedicated to recognizing this year’s accounting scholarship recipients from Houston Baptist University, Prairie View A&M, Sam Houston State University, University of Houston – Bauer College of Business, University of Houston – Clear Lake, University of Houston – Downtown, and the University of St. Thomas – Cameron School of Business.

Among those in the CPA profession who were acknowledged during the awards ceremony were Carol G. Warely with an award for Distinguished Service to the Profession, Emily W. Hillsman for Distinguished Public Service, WM Shirley for Significant Contribution by a Member Firm, Sheila A. Enriquez for Significant Contribution by a Member in Public Practice, Judy G. Chong for Significant Contribution by a Member in Industry, Alice A. Ketchand for Significant Contribution by a Member in Education, Timothy J. Davis and Bushra Kokhar for Significant Contribution by a Student Member, Susan V. Sample for Outstanding CPA of the Year, and Guadalupe R. Garcia for Young CPA of the Year.

Internal awards included Benjamin C. Simiskey, Chair of the Young Professionals Committee, for Outstanding Committee; Richard W. Orellana, Chair of the Public Relations Committee, for Outstanding Committee Chair; Mark A. Collado for Outstanding Committee Member; Katherine M. Sabom, Vice Chair of the Membership Development Committee, for Outstanding Public Relations Event; Pi-Yi Mayo for Outstanding CPE; Benjamin C. Simiskey and the Young Professionals Committee for Outstanding CPE Event; Larry A. Campagna, JD, for Outstanding Speaker; Tonja C. Rodriguez for the Stan and Margaret Voelkel Contribution to Education Award; Darrell W. Groves and David W. Swindull for Rookies of the Year, Alison B. Douglas and Nina D. Perez for Most Creative; Ronald N. Woods for the True Grit Award; and Gail S. Neely, Geraldine M. Pacheco, E. Michael Spartalis and Mitzi J. Stalnaker for Special Recognition.

For reprint and licensing requests for this article, click here.