The Illinois CPA Society has announced the recipients of its annual Excel Awards, highlighting those in the state with highest achievements on the 2017 CPA Exam.

Excel Awards winners must have a combined average score of 90 percent or higher on all exam sections within two consecutive testing windows, in addition to placing in the top 5 percent of all Illinois scores. The designated Excel Gold, Silver and Bronze Medals represent the top three scores in the state.

This year’s Excel Award winners are:

Gold Medal Award:

  • Aubrey Ramsdell
    Wake Forest University; PricewaterhouseCoopers

Silver Medal Award:

  • Joseph Moran
    University of Notre Dame; PricewaterhouseCoopers

Bronze Medal Award:

  • Caitlin Geary
    University of Notre Dame; KPMG

Honored Excel Award Recipients:

  • Matthew Weisberg
    University of Wisconsin Madison; PricewaterhouseCoopers
  • Brandon Jachimiec
    University of Illinois Urbana; Grant Thornton
  • Amanda Mortimer
    Southern Illinois University Edwardsville; PricewaterhouseCoopers

“It’s always a great honor to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of these accounting professionals,” said ICPAS president and CEO Todd Shapiro, in a statement. “Achieving the highest scores on the CPA Exam reflects the dedication and hard work put in by these individuals. We congratulate these new CPAs and look forward to seeing them develop into the future leaders of our profession.”

For more on the ICPAS awards, head to the organization's site here.

CPA Exam takers in U.S.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access