The Internal Revenue Service is looking for applicants for its Taxpayer Advocacy Panel, which provides a forum for citizens from each state to make suggestions regarding IRS decisions.

To qualify as a TAP member, applicants must be U.S. citizens and be able to commit 300 to 500 hours during the year to the panel. They must also be current with their tax obligations and pass a criminal background check.

According to the agency, the mission of the panel is to:

  • Provide opportunities for citizen input and make recommendations to the IRS on customer-service issues;
  • Identify and prioritize taxpayer issues;
  • Report annually to the Treasury Department, the IRS and the National Taxpayer Advocate;
  • Participate in meetings where taxpayers are invited to raise issues about their experiences with the IRS; and,
  • Participate in taxpayer outreach opportunities by speaking to individuals and groups about the panel.

Applications are being accepted from citizens who reside in the following states: Alabama, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Delaware, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, New Mexico, Nevada, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Utah, Washington and Wyoming, as well as Puerto Rico.The application form is available at, and must be submitted by April 30.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access