The Internal Revenue Service is making its new Taxpayer Bill of Rights available in six different languages.

Besides English, the document is now available in Spanish, Chinese, Korean, Russian and Vietnamese in newly revised versions of Publication 1, "Your Rights as a Taxpayer.”

The IRS introduced the new Taxpayer Bill of Rights in June, taking the multiple existing rights embedded in the tax code and grouping them into 10 broad categories, in an effort to make them easier to find and understand (see IRS Adopts Taxpayer Bill of Rights). By making the publication available in multiple languages, the IRS hopes to increase the number of Americans who know and understand their rights under the tax law.

“We believe that these rights are critically important for people to know and understand, and translating them into additional languages helps us reach even more taxpayers,” said IRS Commissioner John Koskinen in a statement. “We encourage people to take a moment to read the Bill of Rights.”

The Taxpayer Bill of Rights contains 10 provisions. They are:

1. The Right to Be Informed
2. The Right to Quality Service
3. The Right to Pay No More than the Correct Amount of Tax
4. The Right to Challenge the IRS’s Position and Be Heard
5. The Right to Appeal an IRS Decision in an Independent Forum
6. The Right to Finality
7. The Right to Privacy
8. The Right to Confidentiality
9. The Right to Retain Representation
10. The Right to a Fair and Just Tax System

The IRS has created a special section of to highlight the 10 rights. The site will continue to be updated with new information as it becomes available.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access