The National Society of Accountants chose a new slate of officers, district governors and state directors, and handed out awards, at its 63rd annual meeting.

Installed as officers for 2008-2009 were James H. Nolen as president, Robert L. Cross as first vice president, Donny J. Woods as second vice president, and Steven J. Hanson as secretary-treasurer.

The Accountant of the Year Award went to Joan C. LeValley for her accomplishments as a leader of the Illinois Society. The Affiliated State Organization of the Year Award was given to the North Carolina Society of Accountants. Leonard L. Larson was honored with the Norma Kraus Memorial Award as State Director of the Year. The Distinguished Service Award was presented to Roger Berryman.

Elected to first terms as district governors were W. Raymond Bucks, Perry W. Smith and Linda J. Cuddie. Re-elected to a second term as district governor were Martha A. Bell and R. Deane Wymer.

Elected to first terms as state directors were Paula Laurion (Alaska), Judy Shoemaker (Colorado), Richard Parker (Indiana), Rick Petrucha (Michigan), Pamela Stamps (Mississippi), Cynthia Castillo (Nevada), Susan Robertson (Oregon), Thomas Fuoco (Rhode Island), Fay Mirman (Virginia), Kathy Hettick (Washington), Kathleen "Billie" Lovett (West Virginia) and Sam Micale (Wisconsin).

Re-elected to second terms as state directors were Brian Iwata (Hawaii), Wilma Christensen (Idaho), Joel Grandon (Iowa), John Jarvis (Kansas), Bruce McAfee (Maine), Shirley Buchanan (Maryland), Jerome Sweeney (Massachusetts), Debra Stapek (Minnesota), Michelle Moon (Missouri), Eric Hansen (Nebraska), Richard Spead (New Hampshire), Velma Bjorgum (North Dakota), Joe Skoda (Ohio), Kermit Black (South Dakota) and Julane M. Wood (Wyoming).

Two state directors were also confirmed to fill unexpired terms to 2009: Pamela Stamps (Mississippi) and Cynthia Castillo (Nevada).

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access