The Public Company Accounting Oversight Board has expanded the membership of its Standing Advisory Group to 42, and increased its members' terms from two years to three years.

"We continue to find our SAG to be an important source of insight and advice and we are enlarging it to give us an even larger pool of experts from which to draw," said PCAOB Chairman James R. Doty. "We want to hear from all the diverse interests who have a stake in the preparation of informative, accurate and independent audit reports."

In announcing the expansion, the board also announced 28 new or re-appointed members of the SAG. The new members are:

-- Steven E. Buller, managing director at BlackRock Inc.

-- J. Michael Cook, public company board member.

-- Jerry M. de St. Paer, executive chairman of the Group of North American Insurance Enterprises.

-- Paul L. Gillis, visiting professor of accounting at the Guanghua School of Management of Peking University.

-- Robert L. Guido, public company board member.

-- Robert H. Herz, CEO of Robert H. Herz LLC.

-- Robert B. Hirth, executive vice president of global internal audit and financial controls at Protiviti Inc.

-- Bruce J. Jorth, executive partner in the National Office of Risk Management at McGladrey & Pullen LLP.

-- Robyn S. Kravit, co-founder and CEO of Tethys Research LLC.

-- Richard H. Murray, CEO of Liability Dynamics Consulting LLC.

-- Jennifer Paquette, chief investment officer of the Public Employees' Retirement Association of Colorado.

-- Walter G. Ricciardi, partner at Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP.

-- Lisa M. Roth, CEO and chief compliance officer at Keystone Capital Corp., and president, Monahan & Roth LLC.

-- Charles V. Senatore, head of corporate compliance at Fidelity Investments.

-- Roman L. Weil, visiting professor of accounting, taxation and law at the Stern School of Business of New York University.

The re-appointed members are:

-- John L. Archambault, senior partner of professional standards and global public policy at Grant Thornton LLP.

-- Dennis R. Beresford, Ernst & Young Executive Professor of Accounting at the Terry College of Business of the University of Georgia.

-- Neri Bukspan, executive managing director, chief quality officer, and chief accountant of credit market services at Standard & Poor's Financial Services LLC.

-- Michael J. Gallagher, assurance partner and U.S. assurance national office leader at PwC.

-- Gaylen R. Hansen, audit partner and director of accounting and auditing quality assurance at Ehrhardt Keefe Steiner & Hottman PC.

-- Gary R. Kabureck, vice president and chief accounting officer, Xerox Corp.

Wayne A. Kolins, partner with BDO USA LLP and global head of audit and accounting at BDO International Ltd.

-- Jeffrey P. Mahoney, general counsel of the Council of Institutional Investors.

-- Kevin B. Reilly, Americas vice chair of professional practice and risk management at Ernst & Young LLP.

-- Barbara L. Roper, director of investor protection at the Consumer Federation of America.

-- Kurt N. Schacht, managing director at the CFA Institute.

-- Damon A. Silvers, director of policy and special counsel at the AFL-CIO.

-- John W. White, a partner in the Corporate Department of Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP.

The continuing members are:

-- Joseph V. Carcello, Ernst & Young and Business Alumni Professor at the University of Tennessee.

-- James D. Cox, Brainerd Currie Professor of Law at the School of Law, Duke University.

-- Elizabeth S. Gantnier, director of quality control at Stegman & Co.

-- Arnold C. Hanish, vice president of finance and chief accounting officer at Eli Lilly & Co.

-- Gail L. Hanson, senior vice president and CFO of Aurora Health Care.

-- Stephen J. Homza, managing director of internal audit at Legg Mason Inc.

-- Lisa Lindsley, director of capital strategies at the American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees.

-- Jamie S. Miller, vice president, controller and CAO of General Electric Co.

-- William T. Platt, deputy managing partner of professional practice and deputy chief quality officer of attest, at Deloitte & Touche LLP.

-- Steven B. Rafferty, professional practices partner at BKD, LLP.

-- Samuel J. Ranzilla, audit partner and national managing partner of audit quality and professional practice at KPMG LLP.

-- D. Scott Showalter, Professor of practice in the Department of Accounting at the Poole College of Management of North Carolina State University.

-- Dan M. Slack, CEO of the Fire and Police Pension Association of Colorado.

-- Lynn E. Turner, managing director of LitiNomics.

"We are grateful that SAG members generously share their valuable time and expertise with us," said Martin F. Baumann, PCAOB chief auditor and director of professional standards, and chairman of the SAG. "Given our numerous standard-setting initiatives focused on improving audit quality and driving investor protection, we look forward to significant and valuable input from these SAG members."

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access