W. Wayne Dunn Jr., Phillip E. Grice, J. Floyd Holliman and Wendy W. Lacey have been named members and directors of Warren, Averett, Kimbrough & Marino LLC, Birmingham, while Hanny N. Akl and James R. Lazenby have been promoted to senior nanager. In addition, Justin T. Russell has been promoted to senior investment analyst at Warren, Averett, Kimbrough & Marino Wealth Management LLC.


Lea Geiser Hayler and Ryan Reiff have been promoted to senior manager in the Colorado office of BKD LLP.


Wes Getman has joined the Atlanta office of McGladrey & Pullen LLP as a partner. ... Brad Dickson, a tax partner at Tarpley & Underwood CPAs, Atlanta, has been appointed to the Special Council that will examine Georgia's tax code and recommend reforms.


Jeff Jackson, lead tax director with Brady Ware, is celebrating his 30th year with the firm, which he joined in 1980.


Cathy A. Johnson has joined Terry Lockridge & Dunn and World Trend Financial, Cedar Rapids and Iowa City, as chief administrative officer and chief financial officer.


Brett A. Behrends has joined the Hays office of Adams, Brown, Beran & Ball Chartered as a staff accountant. ... Kevin Ensminger has joined RubinBrown, Overland Park, as a manager in the Tax Consulting Services Group.


Michael Brewer, a senior manager with Clifton Gunderson, has been appointed secretary of the Baltimore chapter of the Institute of Internal Auditors. ... Gelman, Rosenberg & Freedman CPAs, Bethesda, announced a number of promotions: Jennifer Smith and Trevor Williams have been promoted to senior manager; John Pace to manager; Hang Hoang, Tom Netznik, Andrea Heimur, Jennifer Bisacre, Hiroko Yagisawa and Elinor Litwack to senior accountant; and Kelley Skelton to staff accountant.


David Kovac, a senior vice president at Plante Moran Trust, Grand Rapids, and Mandy Chardoul, an estate planning specialist for Plante Moran Financial Advisors, have joined the Board of Directors of the Western Michigan Estate Planning Council, as a new director and as treasurer, respectively.


Daniel B. Raskas has been promoted to partner-in-charge of the Mergers and Acquisition Services Group of RubinBrown, St. Louis.

New York

Linda Heaney, a partner at Friedman LLP, New York City, has been appointed a trustee of the North Shore-LIJ Health System. ... Steven P. Bryde has joined ERE LLP, New York City, as a tax services principal. ... Barry Salzberg, chief executive officer of Deloitte LLP, was named Executive of the Year in the Services Category at the 8th Annual American Business Awards. ... Steve Schwimmer, sales and relationship management executive at Renaissance Merchant Services, has been re-appointed as a director of the Long Island chapter of the Institute of Management Accountants.

North Carolina

Jenny Porter has been promoted to tax manager at Blair, Bohlé & Whitsitt PLLC, Charlotte.... Jessica Conlon, of the Burlington office of Davenport, Marvin, Joyce & Co. LLP, has earned the QuickBooks Certified ProAdvisor credential from Intuit.


The Ohio Society of CPAs, Columbus, announced its Executive Board for 2010-2011:Peter A. Margaritis, president of IFRS Education and Training LLC, will serve as chair; James D. Gottfried, a partner with Ernst & Young LLP, as chair-elect; and J. Matthew Yuskewich, owner of Winterset CPA Group, as immediate past chair. Serving as members with two-year terms will be: Theodore W. Johnson, a partner at Parms & Co. LLC; William Chorba, chief financial officer and executive team member at NineSigma; Anne C. Hill, an accounting and finance consultant; Andrea M. Meinardi, a senior manager at Crowe Horwath; Kevin J. Rice, a vice president and wealth management advisor at Merrill Lynch; Glenn A. Roberts, a partner at Hoover & Roberts; and Phillip L. Wilson, a principal and chief operating officer at Hill Barth & King LLC. The society also gave out a number of awards: Lee D. Wunschel, a partner at Lublin Sussman Group, received the Gold Medal for Meritorious Service.; David M. Reape, a senior manager in the Tax Department with Ciuni & Panichi Inc., received the 2010 Outstanding Member Volunteer Award; and James D. Cashell, C. Rolin Niswonger Chair of Accountancy at Miami University, received the Ohio Outstanding Educator Award. ... Shelley Morgan has joined Skoda Minotti, Cleveland, as a human resource generalist in the Human Resources Department, while Jessie Harrison and Jonathon Bogden have joined the firm as interns in the Accounting and Auditing Department. ... Scott McRill has joined SS&G, Cleveland, as director of the Transaction Advisory Services Group.

South Carolina

Ron Fields, a member in the Spartanburg office of Dixon Hughes PLLC, has earned the Certified Valuation Analyst credential from the National Association of Certified Valuation Analysts.


Matthew S. Pierce has joined the Information Technology Department of Lattimore Black Morgan & Cain PC, Brentwood, as a senior help desk technician.


MaloneBailey LLP announced a number of promotions in its Houston office: Jane Wang and Leah Gonzales have been promoted to audit senior manager; Wei Yu to audit manager; and Arnold Giovanni, David Garza, Patrick Wong, Peiling Cheng and Rima Patel to audit senior. ... Jennifer Zisman has joined UHY Advisors, Houston, as business development manager. ... Jason Liu has joined GBH CPAs PC, Houston, as an audit manager.


Allison Kollack, a tax manager at Clark Nuber, Bellevue, has received the 2010 Award for Outstanding Graduate from Golden Gate University's Master of Science in Taxation program.


Bob Cottingham has been named leader of the Southern Region for Wipfli LLP, Milwaukee. ... Krista D. Hau and Yingxin Liu, staff accountants at Vrakas/Blum SC, Brookfield, have earned their CPA licenses.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access