People News - Dec. 2, 2016

A roundup of recent hires, promotions, awards and other personnel news from firms across the country.


Leon Janks, managing partner of Green Hasson Janks, Los Angeles, has been appointed chairman of accounting network HLB USA.


The Connecticut Society of CPAs has appointed Bonnie Stewart its executive director, effective at the beginning of January 2017. (See the story.) 



Hernando Gomez, a director in the Management Advisory Services Department of MBAF, Miami, has joined the advisory board of national bank BBVA Compass. … Catherine O’Toole has joined Kabat, Schertzer De La Torre, Taraboulos and Co., Miami, as a staff accountant in the forensic and business valuations practice.



Noah Randall and Emily Wells have joined Baker Tilly Virchow Krause, Chicago, as consultants with its craft beverage industry group. Randall will be based in Tennessee, and Wells in Minneapolis. … Sheldon Holzman, a partner emeritus of BTVK, was elected to the Board of Directors of the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy. He was also elected Great Lakes regional director, and made chair of the Communications Committee. … Crowe Horwath LLP, Chicago, has elected 25 new partners and principals, effective April 1, 2017: Ashish Ahlowalia, Glen Beanland, Tim Bryan, Andrew Callaghan, Andrea Castle, Jon Cesaretti, Wanda Denton, Laura Edwards, Stuart Feldhamer, Colleen Hall, Ken Harris, Nick Hollinden, Greg LeMond, Archie Leynes, Sean Katzenberger, Kristen Malone, Mark Maraccini, Ron Melling, Christopher Mitchell, Clayton Mitchell, Glenn Richards, Scott Sachs, Richard Seo, Niall Twomey and Aaron VanSoest.



Stefan Hendrickson has joined the Tax Services Group of Dean Dorton Allen Ford, Lexington, as an associate director of tax services. 


Eric Wetherell has joined the health care consulting practice of Baker Newman Noyes as a principal in the Portland office.



Nicole Zompa has joined AAFCPAs, Westborough, as a commercial audit partner.



Brandy Terwilliger has been promoted to principal at Maner Costerisan, Lansing. She was worked at the firm twice, most recently since 2012.


Steve Anseth, a partner at Abdo, Eick & Meyers LLP, Edina, has been named the firm’s nonprofit group leader.


Chris Henderson has joined the Client Accounting Services Team of REDW LLC, Albuquerque, as a senior manager.



Robert G. Hilbert has been appointed a partner and national director of accounting at CohnReznick LLP, New York. … Evelyn Magdaleno has joined The Bonadio Group as a principal in its New York City office in the Compliance Solutions Division. … Jacqueline Wolfovski, a founding partner and executive committee member of Exponens, has been elected world chair of international firm association BKR International.



Jonathan Hickman, a managing director at Alvarez & Marsal, has been promoted to co-head of the Southern Region for the firm’s North American Restructuring division, leading the region along with managing director Brian Cejka.


Brad Daugherty has joined GBQ, Cincinnati, as a partner in the assurance practice. … Paul Weisinger, a partner at Walthall CPAs, Cleveland, has been named to the board of Cleveland Arts Prize.


Juliya Kofman Greenfield has joined RKL Risk Management LLC, Radnor, as a manager. … Jonathan L. Zeigler, a partner at Baker Tilly Virchow Krause LLP, received a 2016 Pennsylvania Institute of CPA Young Leader Award recipient in recognition of his demonstrated commitment and active participation in their community and the accounting profession. In addition, partner Kervin R. Myer has been appointed treasurer of the United Way of York County.



Telford A. Lodden, West Des Moines, Iowa, has been installed as chair of the 2016-17 Board of Directors of the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy. (See the story.) 



Larry Autrey, managing partner of Whitley Penn, Dallas, has been named to DCEO Magazine’s Dallas 500 List of the most powerful business leaders.



Françoise Flores, has been appointed to the International Accounting Standards Board. She was previously a partner at Mazars. In addition, Joanna Perry has been reappointed chair of the IFRS Advisory Council

Send your personnel announcements to

For reprint and licensing requests for this article, click here.