Cathy Rice, a shareholder at JamisonMoneyFarmer PC, Tuscaloosa, has been elected to serve on the Board of Directors for the Georgia Land Trust, Inc., Alabama Land Trust, Inc., and the founding organization The Chattowah Open Land Trust, Inc.


John Dunican and John Horner have joined Armanino LLP, San Ramon, as partners.


Peter Pfeiffer, McGladrey’s regional managing business development director, has been appointed to the Board of the Connecticut chapter of the Turnaround Management Association.


Dan Johnson, managing director at CBIZ Kirkland, Russ, Murphy & Tapp, has been named to the board of Florida division of the American Cancer Society. 


Blue & Co. LLC., has made several new hires throughout the firm. Jim Suttner was hired as a director; Angie Smith as an accounting specialist; Jennifer Cowden as an administrative assistant; Susie Mansker as a DC retirement plan administrator; Dough Terry as manager; Ben Borchers as a senior accountant; DeeAnn Garvin as a staff tax accountant; Ashley Hobbs and Cassie Smith as administrative assistant; and Sara Falconer as a receptionist. 


Stephen Mehaffey, an associate director at Postlethwaite & Netterville APAC, has been appointed to serve on the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants’ Health Care Tax Task Force. 


Meredith Calvin has been promoted to manager in the audit and accounting department at Gordon Advisors PC, Troy. … Cliff Holmyard and Bryan McShane have joined GHD CPAs and Advisors as a director and senior staff accountant, respectively.  


Christine Powers, a business manager at Abdo, Eick & Meyers LLP, has received the Volunteer of the Year award from the Greater Mankato Area United Way.


Fusae Parker has joined Summit Consultancy Group, Las Vegas, as a staff accountant. 


Theodore Haible has joined Day Seckler, Fishkill, as a staff accountant. Prior to Day Seckler, Haible was the owner of, the quick serve restaurant --Not Just Salads LLC. Haible will assist the firm’s clients with accounting and consulting services. … Garth Williams has joined Kroll Advisory Solutions, New York, as the firm’s new CFO.


George Noonan has joined Elliott Davis PLLC, Charlotte, as a tax senior manager in the firm’s financial services practice. 


Mathieu Fortin has joined Ciuni & Panichi Inc., as a staff accountant in the firm’s audit and accounting services department. … Kiersten Gaudet and Lisa Lamphere has joined the independent accounting and consulting firm, GBQ, Cincinnati, as senior managers. The two will work in the firm’s State and Local Tax Services practice.  


Rob Drover, has joined the full service accounting, tax and advisory firm Smart Devine, as a managing director in the firm’s business advisory practice. 


Jim Bourey, director of corporate development at the Greenville, S.C.-based Elliott Davis LLC, has been selected as one of Greenville Business Magazine’s 50 Most Influential of 2012. 


Mary Ann Lawson has joined Lattimore Black Morgan & Cain PC, Nashville, as a technologies administrator with a specialty in small business data and office management. 


Ryan Gibson and Aaron Miller were promoted to audit manager and audit supervisor, respectively, at Condley and Co. LLP, Albilene. … Jay Tompkins, partner at Karlins, Ramey & Tompkins LLC, The Woodlands, will be a speaker at the upcoming tax seminar hosted by the Woodlands Area Chamber of Commerce.  The seminar, “Tax Law Changes: Affecting You and Your Business in 2013” will take place Monday, March 4 from 11 a.m. – 2 p.m. in The Woodlands Chamber Boardroom. 


Linda Smith has received the Client Service Star award from Brittenford Systems, a technology services firm located in Reston, Va. 


Todd Lard is Sutherland Asbill & Brennan LLP’s state and local tax practice as a partner. Todd Betor, Sahang-Hee Hahn and Saabir Kapoor are joining the firm’s SALT team as associates. 


Lindsay Snyder has joined Kolb+Co., Brookfield, as a part-time seasonal tax processor. … Schenck SC has sent out gratitudes to a bulk of their employees throughout the firm acknowledging their milestone years of service. Jim Burkhardt shareholder and CFO has spent 35 years at the firm; Al Arnold and Brian Strnad spent 25 years; while Todd Behm and Sheryl Schultz served 20 years. Carrie Kryszak, Tom Maurer, Andy Mugerauer, Pat Ness, Carey Krouth and Michelle Mulloy hit their 15 year mark; Steve Schmit, Libby Welhouse, Richard Marcelle, Kelly Block, Michael Bichanich, Skip Grubanowitch and Jodi Sommer hit their 10 year mark. Courtney Kahl, Janet Stewart, Kaysie Sussex, Michelle Flynn, Kirsten Hoffman, Cindy Ward, Kathy Lakritz, Belinda Ryan, Stefanie Markworth, Shannon Otten and Sara Rogers reached their five year milestone. The firm also announced its newest board members. Mike Kuechler, Todd Mueller and Mark Spaeth were elected to serve three-year terms on the Schenck Board of Directors.

Be sure to email your new hires and promotions with "People News" in the subject line to

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access