A roundup of recent hires, promotions, awards and other personnel news from firms across the country.


James R. Lazenby, a principal at Warren Averett LLC, Birmingham, has earned the Accredited Estate Planner designation, while member and Transaction Advisory Services Practice leader Hanny Akl has earned the Certified Exit Planning Advisor designation.



Holthouse Carlin & Van Trigt LLP, Los Angeles, has admitted nine partners: in tax, Phillip Allred, Terry Cockerham, Jessica Joyner Fine, Keith Pritchard, David Smith, Eckhard Walter and David Zeiger, and in audit, Michael Cole and Raman Sain.


Financial Accounting Standards Board member Daryl E. Buck will retire from FASB, Norwalk, effective Dec. 31, 2016. He was appointed to FASB in February 2011, and is currently serving in his second term.


Doug Anderson has joined the Institute of Internal Auditors, Altamonte Springs, as managing director for CAE solutions. … Keith Hennessy has joined PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP as a tax principal in the South Florida marketplace.


Kathryn Fletcher has been promoted to partner-in-charge of the Quality Control Department at Draffin & Tucker LLP, Albany and Atlanta, while Ben Glass and Jeremy Sapp have been promoted to supervisor in the health care practice, and Katie Hatcher and Paul Mattox to senior accountants in the health care practice.



Kenneth G. Dvorak has joined Selden Fox Ltd., Oak Brook, as a tax vice president, while Michael A. VanAsdall has been promoted to audit vice president.



Robert C. Hilton has joined Katz, Sapper & Miller, Indianapolis, as a director in the Valuation and ESOP Services Groups. … Somerset CPAs PC, Indianapolis, announced a number of promotions: Dan Wilcox, Kyle Anderson, Bryan Fender, Danny House, Amberly Marshall, Ashley Sovine and Brianne Schneckenberger were promoted to senior accountant; Nick Netherton and Josh Roth to senior financial analyst; Heath Riley, Alicia Daniel, Ting Gan and Brian Thrasher to supervisor; Ransom LeMay, Caleb Bullock, Brandon Walters, Lindy Orr and Scott Sutton to manager; and Cynthia Bay, Andrea Riffey, Lou Castellani and Toni King to senior manager.


Flora Djojo has rejoined Dean Dorton Allen Ford PLLC, in Lexington as a director of tax services.


David J. Keyo has been named president of G.T. Reilly & Co., Milton, succeeding Anthony P. Smeriglio, who has been named chief executive officer of the firm. Keyo joined the firm in 1996. … Susan M. Esper, an audit and enterprise risk services partner at Deloitte & Touche LLP, has been appointed chair of the Women’s Network Advisory Board of the Greater Boston Chamber of Commerce.



Madalyn A. Koster has been promoted to manager at Maner Costerisan, Lansing.


Josh Sherburne and Jean McGann have been promoted to partner at Abdo, Eick & Meyers LLP, Edina.



Jim Anderson has joined RubinBrown as a tax partner in the firm’s Kansas City office, while Dennis Lazaroff has joined the firm as a tax manager. … Ron Abeles, a founding partner at Abeles and Hoffman PC, Olivette, has joined the Strategic Advisory Board of alliantGroup. … Chris Hoffman and Matt Schulte have been promoted to manager at MarksNelson LLC, Kansas City, while Patrick Cullen and Levi Perl have joined the firm as staff accountants.



John A. Demetrius, Michael M. Wolansky, Gerard A. Demetrius and Bernard W. Stubofsky, along with six other accounting professionals from Demetrius Berkower LLC, have joined the New Jersey practice of Buchbinder Tunick & Co. LLP. ... John Genz, a partner at Citrin Cooperman, was awarded the Distinguished Service Medallion of the New Jersey Society of CPAs.


KPMG announced a number of new hires in its New York tax practice: Paul Droubie has joined the firm as a partner, Candice M. Turner as a principal, Philip Jacobs as a tax principal and national sector leader of the financial services insurance tax practice, and Lihui Zheng as a managing director. … Hal Bellovin and Philip Bonanno have joined the Compensation and Benefits Consulting practice of Grant Thornton LLP, as employment tax consulting director and retirement consulting actuary and director, respectively. … Michael Eagan has joined Alvarez & Marsal Taxand LLC’s federal tax practice as a managing director in Washington, D.C., while James Stanley has joined the firm as a managing director based in San Francisco. In addition, New York-based Adam Benson and Christopher Howe were promoted to managing director. … Raymond Haller was promoted to tax partner at Grassi & Co., Jericho. … William Timlen has been admitted to the partnership at EisnerAmper LLP, and will be a member of the Private Business Services Group. … Michael Navarro and his professional associates from Nasberg Navarro CPA PLLC, have joined the New York practice of Buchbinder Tunick & Co. LLP. … Harry Moehringer has been re-elected as managing partner of Marks Paneth LLP; he was elected co-managing partner in 2012 with Mark Levenfus, who has become MP emeritus and joined Morison International, a global association of professional service firms, as chairman. The firm also named Marc M. Despagni, Brian L. Fox, Joseph M. Klein, Moshe Landy, Mendy Schmookler and Sibi B. Thomas as partners, and Alyssa Forslund as a principal. … Timothy Bubar has been promoted to principal in the Auditing and Accounting Department of Lumsden McCormick, Buffalo, while staff members Dominic Baranyi, Peter DiNunzio, Zacherie Geary, Kelsey Kuppinger, Megan Morris and Jenna Torella have earned their CPA licenses. … Johnathan Miles has been promoted to senior analyst at Brisbane Consulting Group LLC. ... Timothy Spadaro, a senior valuation analyst in the Valuation & Advisory Services Group of Teal, Becker & Chiaramonte CPAs PC, Albany, has earned the CFA credential.


Mike Smith has joined DMJ & Co. PLLC, Greensboro, as a consultant. … James A. Fowler has joined Cherry Bekaert LLP as a tax partner in the Charlotte practice.



Judd Ballard has been promoted to senior manager in the SALT practice of GBQ Partners LLC, Columbus. … Skoda Minotti, Cleveland, announced a number of new hires: Alex Schulte has joined the firm as a staff accountant in the Tax Department, while Drew Deleo, Erika Buzalka, Michael Guban, Nate Lorentz and Teddy DiPlacido have joined as staff accountants in the Accounting & Auditing Department. … Andrea Pfaadt has joined the Columbus office of Schneider Downs as business development director.


Francis D. Morris has joined Reinsel Kuntz Lesher LLP, Lancaster, as a manager in the Business Consulting Services Group.



John Rainone, a manager with DiSanto, Priest & Co., Warwick, has earned the Certified Construction Industry Financial Professional designation.  


Kenneth Guidry, president of Pannell Kerr Forster of Texas PC, Houston, has been appointed chair of the Audit and Risk Committee of the Greater Houston Partnership. In addition, firm director Ryan Istre will serve on the leadership team of the Greater Houston Partnership’s Business Development Program; director Chris Hatten has been appointed treasurer of the Houston chapter of the Turnaround Management Association; and director Michael Veuleman is now treasurer of the East End Chamber of Commerce.


Vishal Chawla has joined Grant Thornton LLP as a managing principal in its cyber-risk advisory services practice, based in McLean.


Send your personnel announcements to AcToday@SourceMedia.com.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Accounting Today content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access